We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would absolutely stay again”
Review of China Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
China Clipper Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would absolutely stay again”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the inn. Hans and Ingrid were great hosts and our stay was extremely comfortable and relaxed. We enjoyed all of the time we spent at the inn. Our room was very nice and breakfast each morning was a great start to the day. I'd been to Ouray many times and had not stayed at the inn before but will absolutely return. Absolutely worth it. Definitely try out the amazing muffins that Hans makes for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
226
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary evening at the China Clipper. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters - easily one of the best rooms we've ever had (we count perhaps a thousand different hotel nights all over the world). The owners were gracious and welcoming. Breakfast - tasty, but served buffet-style...a first for us. Still, worth every penny.

Room Tip: Gt the Captain's Quarters if you'd like to be spoiled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimnPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I went here with a friend this past weekend for a last minute getaway. She had a magnet on her fridge of the hot springs in Ouray so we decided to go. I had been to the area before and knew how stunningly beautiful it was, but I did not expect such an amazing hotel experience as well.

We went in the off-season, so we paid a VERY reasonable price for the room with a Queen bed, and he also upgraded us when we got there to the "Firstmate's Quarters" which had a King bed, sitting area, jet tub, little kitchen setup, and large closet.

The breakfasts were AMAZING, the travel advice was thoughtful and sincere, and the service was excellent. My friend is actually going to buy her parents and a weekend away for their anniversary. There is also a beautiful yard with a large hot tub.

Also, it is one (very small) block from Main Street and all the restaurants and grocery stores, etc. Half a mile from the Ouray hot springs, a short walk to the vapor caves, and about 10 miles from the Orvis hot springs in Ridgway.

I can't say enough good things about this experience... do yourself a favor and go!

Room Tip: Call up Hans and he'll describe the different rooms, the ones at the back of the house have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaylaW822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the China Clipper the 1st weekend in April of 2012. It was a fantastic experience! The Bed and Breakfast is decorated very well and makes you feel comfortable from the moment you walk in. Hans and Ingrid are great hosts and make every effort to ensure your stay is without issue. I could go on and on about how fantastic this place is, but will spare you all the details....................you'll just have to go experience it yourself. As indicated by other comments, Hans makes a very good breakfast! We will definitely stay with Hans and Ingrid again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here on a weekend getaway. This is the perfect staging point for adventures in the Ouray area. Hans is an excellent host who makes a delicious breakfast every day. You can have toast, yogurt and berries; and you can also feast on Eggs Benedict or other savory delights. The perfect fuel to get your day going. The room we stayed in - Soverign of the Seas - was clean and comfortable. The amenities were as advertised and it was an excellent place to "come home" to after a day in the great outdoors. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmsintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before the new owner took over, and the place still has the charm and beauty it had then. We had a wonderful breakfast.
This is a place I hope to stay at again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CUinMoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severance, CO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights for a ski trip and everthing was fabulous. Very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was fantastic and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Will definitly be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 8 in Ouray
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 8 in Ouray
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Clipper Inn

Property: China Clipper Inn
Address: 525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — China Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your China Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Clipper Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing