We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way up to Glenwood springs.

We arrived early but there are picnic tables outside, so were able to sit and have a picnic there.

This is a very cute place, kept immaculate at the end of the road. Ouray is such a quaint town, really liked it there,

We drove down to Main Street and went into the supermarket there to pick up some supplies for our microwave and fridge.

Our room was very nice and clean. Great towels.

Of course, the big draw are the hot tubs, which we took advantage of.

Breakfast not served but they have juice, muffins and coffee in the office area. We did want a full breakfast as we had scheduled a jeep ride early morning so the office gave us a restaurant to go to and even gave us a coupon.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators so keep in mind. I called ahead and requested a first floor room. Also, FREE laundr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Betty370,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear from our guests whether they visited for one day or a week.
Ouray is a great little town, and located in the southwest corner, the Box Canyon Lodge is an ideal spot: close to hiking in one direction and walking distance to Main Street in the other.
Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms for our guests, and an environment perfect for relaxation, complimented by our four mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in the courtyard.
We serve a very light continental breakfast in the morning- muffins, fruit, juice and coffee or tea. With so many options for a great meal on Main Street, we prefer to let our guests experience more of our lovely town and are always happy to provide suggestions.
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 640 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've stayed here off and on for years and it's a great destination in Ouray. The soaking tubs are the stars, we always manage to have a one to ourselves. The rooms are clean, if simple, but what do you need? Our honeymoon suite had a balcony as well. We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Peter O,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Box Canyon!
Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms to all of our guests, as well as excellent service.
We are very proud of our four all natural mineral hot spring tubs, tired up the hillside in our courtyard. Not only do they offer a soothing soak, but unbelievable views.
Thank you so much for your review of our property, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times in the past, but the experience seems to get a bit better each time. The two-story motel-like lodge is located in a prime location in the southwestern corner of Ouray, just a few hundred feet away from the entrance to the amazing Box Canyon Park (don’t miss it, at $3 to $4 per person) and winter ice-climbing venues. A particular feature is that it has four hot tubs fed by the natural hot springs on-property (a rare amenity in this town where virtually all the hot spring waters go to the large public facility in town). The lodge is very well maintained and attractive, with many flower boxes, a nice interior courtyard, and views of towering mountains in all directions. A four-or-five block walk brings you to the center of town, with shops and restaurants. Front-desk staff seem occasionally overloaded with phone- and in-person-requests, but are friendly and helpful. Rooms in the newer section are somewhat larger than what we remember from years ago. All rooms, we understand, are equipped with a small refrigerator, a microwave, a work table, a shower/tub, good and simple wi-fi, a ceiling fan, and a heater (warmed by the hot springs waters). The newer rooms still have elements of the older, more rustic and smaller rooms we stayed in a decade ago. The lodge serves a very modest continental breakfast (but it actually roasts the coffee beans for the new breakfast/lunch restaurant several blocks away in town, Cavallo's). The room prices are fairly reasonable, but they get better because of a wide variety of discounts and a clear attempt by management to give good deals to clients. This is our favorite place to stay in this delightful town, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are newer and larger. Some face the parking lot, although traffic is minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear nedtraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge.
It is always a pleasure to hear from a guest as passionate about Ouray as we are.
Located in the Southwest corner of town, The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is a perfect location, with easy access to restaurants and shops in one direction, and a variety of trails and attractions in the other.
The best part of a day in Ouray is to come back to a clean, comfortable room then soak in one of our all natural mineral hot spring tubs. The Box Canyon is one of only three properties in Ouray with rights to the mineral hot spring waters, and we are very pleased to be able to share this wonderful gift with our guests.
Once again, thank you for sharing your Ouray experience, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The lodge was recommended to us by friends and it completely lived up to expectations. We had a second floor room with outside corridor and a lovely bench seat so could enjoy the mountain views although we did also look out onto the Victorian Inn opposite. Very clean with comfortable bed and duvet. There are 4 outdoor mineral springs hot tubs on different levels in secluded position behind the lodge. The lodge is in a quiet location at the end of the street and there is a short (20 min) walk into Box Canyon itself where there is a lovely nature center with trails including one to the waterfall. Even in the summer the waterfall was an impressive sight. Laundry facilities were clean but make sure you have plenty of quarters. Only stayed one night in Ouray on our road trip but wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCNewportBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear FCNewportBeach,

Thanks so much for sharing your recent visit with us at the Box Canyon Lodge in beautiful Ouray!
Truly, one night is not enough time to experience everything there is to do in Ouray, and conveniently located within easy walking distance of several hiking trails, as well as all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street, the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is indeed an ideal base-camp.
Our four all natural mineral hot spring tubs, tiered on the hillside in the courtyard provide the ideal spot to relax after a day of adventuring in the mountains, and our clean comfortable rooms are perfect for a good nights rest.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and sincerely look forward to a longer visit next time.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We selected this lodge based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. It is small and not fancy but the rooms and grounds are very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The location is wonderful; it sits in a quiet area at the end of the street but is still close to everything in town. After seeing other lodging in Ouray, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Go for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back courtyard - the other rooms face the parking lot and street. Also, a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank km11s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear km11s,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.

We are so pleased tht you chose to stay with us, and even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay!
At the Box Canyon Lodge, we strive to always provide stellar service to our guests in every way possible. Customer service is important to every member of our team, and we strive to exceed expectations in every way possible.
Located in the southwest corner of town, we are convenient to a variety of hiking trails as well as all of the restaurants and shops on Main Street.
Thank you again for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again,

Best Regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were looking for a place with hot springs and this place came highly recommended and it certainly lived up to our expectation. Clean and comfy rooms. The clerk at the desk was extremely helpful and very personable. She gave some really good recommendations for dinner. We opted for an early dinner as she said the 4 hot spring tubs get busy between 7:30 and 10:00 each evening. We had a great dinner and then claimed our hot spring tub for a leisurely soak. The temperature was perfect! We visited the Box Canyon Falls park behind the lodge the next morning and saw the hot springs and falls that feed the lodge tubs.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Deborah T,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your recent visit with us at the Box canyon Lodge & Hot Springs in Beautiful Ouray, Colorado.

With our four natural mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in the courtyard, guests are able to enjoy an escape from the norm; soaking in the soothing water while absorbing the spectacular beauty of the San Juans. It does get a little busy at the tubs in the evenings, particularly on Saturday nights, but even that is an adventure, providing the opportunity to meet and make friends with other guests all enjoying the idyllic setting.
We are very fortunate to have a team at the Box Canyon as focused on our guests as we are. Customer service is second nature, and our goal is to provide every one of our guests with an outstanding experience. From clean, comfortable rooms, to meticulously maintained grounds to stellar service, we are always looking for new ways to better serve our guests.
Thank you again for writing a review of our property, and we all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It had been years since I was last in Ouray, Colorado, often described as the “Switzerland of America”. I had memories of a special place nestled in the San Juan Mountains at over 10,000 feet in elevation. I was not disappointed. It was even better than I remembered.

Our two night reservation was at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs. What a delightful place to stay. The lodge had been recommended to us especially because they had their own sulfur-free, natural hot springs on their property.

Box Canyon Lodge opened in 1959 and it is a beautiful facility. The Ute Indians first used this site in 1920 for the spiritual powers of the hot spring. In 1930 the place became a sanitarium where people came for treatment of rheumatism and other ailments. We had no ailments....we just wanted to soak.

The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The staff keeps the grounds very well maintained. We were fortunate to get a room in the back facing the three levels of hot tubs. The tub water increased in temperature as you went up the levels. Rooms in their other buildings tended to face the parking lot. Sitting outside our room in the cool early morning, with a wonderful cup of coffee, scrolling through the complimentary wireless internet on our pads was a nice way to begin the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Robert V,

Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge are a treasure trove of American History. It seems as if there is always another story about life in the west.
Our mineral hot springs are truly amazing. Sulfer free, which means no rotten egg smell and soaking in these soothing waters is rejuvenating regardless of ailments. Recently, we had a guest with fibromyalgia who swore the water was a miracle!
With our beautifully maintained grounds, and impeccably clean and comfortable rooms, the Box Canyon Lodge is an excellent place to enjoy an adventure in the picturesque town of Ouray.
I am so pleased you were able to come and see us, and certianly look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#12 of 15 in Ouray
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $104 - $1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing