We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Box Canyon Lodge is a modest motel type property, but it has a few very special features that make it stand out - and make it worth a rating of very good. They have 3 hot tubs at different levels up a set of steps. The hot tubs are fed from a natural hot springs, and the hot tubs are HOT... and delightful in every way. This property also features warm & wonderful staff and exceptionally clean rooms. And a nice little touch - TV's with built in DVD player, and a great library of movies available for free from the front desk.
But, let me warn you - spend a few minutes in the hot tub and you will be so relaxed that you'll be asleep long before you get to the end of any movie you happen to put on! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJG_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear LJG_Away,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is a small independent property focused on creating a memorable home away from home for our guests. Our team is dedicated to providing clean comfortable rooms and service that exceeds the expectations of our guests.
Located in the Southwest corner of the beautiful mountain town of Ouray, Colorado, we do have an advantage. There is no such thing as a bad view in Ouray, and the view of the town from our mineral hot spring tubs is breathtaking indeed. After a day of adventuring, a soak in the soothing waters, surrounded by the majesty of the San Juan Mountains is a perfect way to finish the day.
We have a video library of over 400 movies, and add to it often. Preferable to just the one show on cable, our guests can choose as many movies as they would like, and fall asleep to one after a day of fun in Colorado. Picking a movie can be an adventure as well, as guests discuss different films and make recommendations to each other. More than one friendship has begun in the lobby of the Box canyon Lodge while picking out movies!
It truly is a pleasure to hear from our guests about their time with us, and we genuinely look forward to your next visit to The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
Best regards,
Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 637 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've been coming here for more than 30 years. The current ownership has moved towards a more "green" motel. I have never been to a motel where the rooms were cleaner, and the staff more friendly. The on-site wooden hot tubs are a true delight. If you're up for a walk uphill, everything in town, and the falls and ice park, are within walking distance. This is truly one of our favorite places in the country to spend time.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back wing have a view of the hot tubs so you can tell when one is available. All r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Robert W,
As always, it is a pleasure to hear from guests who have spent so many wonderful times with us. It is fun to hear stories of how the hotel and the entire area have changed as the years pass, and with such a rich and colorful history, there are always new adventures to learn of and experience.
Since we took responsibility for the Box Canyon Lodge, we have taken advantage of the natural mineral hot springs by converting to geo-thermal heat. We use the water from the springs to not only heat all of the rooms in the hotel, but also to heat the tap water used for bathing and laundry. We provide separate recycling bins in each room for all glass and plastic bottles, and many of the other upgrades to the property are in the interest of conservation and protecting the environment.
The mineral hot spring tubs tiered up the hillside in our courtyard provide a sense of quiet and solitude, making it hard to remember that just a few short blocks away are all of the great restaurants and shops of Main Street. It is as if you have the best of both worlds!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Perfect location at the end of the canyon, within walking distance of the ice park, numerous trail heads, and great restaurants. The private hot spring tubs terraced up the hillside are divine. Hundreds of DVDs available for free from the friendly front desk. My only complaint is that I have to find a sitter for my dogs when I stay at box canyon lodge, as pets are not allowed.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the staircase are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marblecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear marblecake,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.
Each of our rooms have new flat screen tv's with dvd players in them, and our video library now boasts over 400 complimentary movies for your enjoyment. It is fun not only to have so many options for viewing, but to come down to the lobby and discuss different films with other guests. Between the camaraderie of sharing a soak in the mineral hot spring tubs and a few minutes of critiquing different films, it is no surprise that often our guests form friendships with one another. We have several return guests who now plan their visits together after having met here at the Box Canyon!
At the Box Canyon Lodge, our goal is to provide every guest with a pleasant, memorable stay. Our housekeeping team are dedicated to ensuring each room is immaculate and allergen free. We use all organic cleaning supplies with little or no odor as well in order to provide our guests with a comfortable environment for resting after a long day of adventuring in Ouray and the surrounding area.
Within easy walking distance to several great restaurants and shops on Main Street in one direction, and a variety of hiking trails as well as the ice park in another, the Box Canyon is a great location for any Ouray adventure.
Once again, thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Best,
Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been taking groups ice climbing in Ouray for 19 years. We have stayed at the Box Canyon Inn just about every year (a couple times we made the mistake of trying other options that, for one reason or another, did not stack up). The staff and owners are great, always pleasant and helpful. They are a pleasure to do business with. We can park the van and not need it the whole stay because everything is right there - ice climbing, hot springs, hiking and restaurants all within walking distance. We'll be back next January.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Bryan F,
It is always a pleasure to see you and your ice climbing groups! One of our favorite things at the Box Canyon is to welcome guests back again and again. It is the best affirmation that we are doing our job right. Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide every guest who stays with us a clean, comfortable room, and friendly, professional service.
Conveniently located within walking distance to Main Street and the Ice Park, in addition to several great hiking opportunities, the Box Canyon is a perfect spot for groups travelling in one vehicle; individuals are more free to choose separate activities without worrying about transportation issues.
The four mineral hot spring tubs on our property are a perfect way for both beginner and experienced ice climbers to wind down after a day on the ice, and the complimentary movie library in our lobby a great way to end the evening.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge, and we look forward to another 19 years working with you!
Sincerely,
Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Within walking distance of the ice park, this little gem was a great place to come back to at the end of a day of climbing. Because it has its own hot springs, you don't have to go anywhere else for some serious relaxing. I was picked up at the airport by one of their very friendly staff members and given a great history of the area on the drive over. Checking in, I felt like I was staying with family. Everyone is incredibly nice here. Everything in this town is within walking distance- great places for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rooms were really clean, warm, and the coffee, without fail (unlike most big hotels I stay at...), was perfectly replenished every day. Great that the room has a microwave and mini-fridge .Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the mountains. Might be a bit noisy (until 10 pm) to be close to the tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalbuMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear MalibuMom,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
We are fortunate to have a team who takes the comfort of our guests as seriously as we do, and who genuinely enjoy exceeding the expectations of each person who visits us. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms and a welcoming atmosphere not always found in a larger hotel.
Located in the southwest corner of town, we are an easy walk to the Ice Park, and just a few blocks from all of the shops and restaurants on Main Street.
Recently, The Box Canyon began roasting our own coffee. Along with muffins baked fresh for us by a local caterer, a steaming cup of Exotic Earth Coffee perfectly compliments the beginning of any day!
Our four mineral hot spring tubs, tiered on the hillside in the courtyard are an excellent way to relax after a day of ice climbing, or any winter sport you care to enjoy.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

A girl trip at this fantastic location! The hot springs were wonderful. The large suite was a bit smaller than we thought, but the gas fireplace more than compensated. We will be back for the Summer, for sure. What a wonderful community, as well. Absolutely loved Ouray.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank railroadgulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear railroadgulch,
Thank you so much for sharing your visit to Ouray and the Box Canyon Lodge, definitely a great place for a weekend getaway with the girls!
With two queen beds in the bedroom, and a queen size futon in the separate living room, the Large Suite can comfortably sleep up to six people. The little kitchenette, which has a four-burner range, microwave and full size refrigerator is great for entertaining as guests enjoy a cozy fire. Winter is a lovely time to visit the tiny town of Ouray, Colorado. It is so quiet and peaceful, like walking into an old fashioned Christmas card. Soaking in the soothing mineral hot springs during a snow storm is an experience everyone should enjoy at least once.
Of course, Summer is also a great time to visit - The area is not called the "Jeeping Capitol of the World" for no reason! With access to over 500 miles of four-wheel drive roads, most of which are only accessible during the warmer months, a jeep tour in the high country is an adventure not to be missed.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location just a few steps away from the Box canyon falls. Very quaint hotel within walking distance to everything. The rooms were quite spacious. The beds were adequate but time to replace mattress. The first bed hung down on one side and the other one made a crunching sound everytime you moved. Believe it is time to replace the topper. Other than that the rooms were adequate. The staff was friendly upon check in and also provided dining options in the area. A small breakfast that consisted of muffins fruit coffee and juice was also provided. The hot tubs are and added bonus and provides the most beautiful views. Very scenic little town. Would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treasuretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Treasuretz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge.

Ouray is a beautiful little town in Southwest Colorado, and boasts some of the most spectacular scenery around. A personal favorite is the uppermost mineral hot spring tub in our courtyard. On a winter night, the steam and snow reflect moonlight and stars to create an almost surreal sense of escape from the norm.

Our goal at the Box Canyon Lodge is to provide clean comfortable rooms for our guests to relax in while enjoying the Uncompaghres. We are always working to upgrade and maintain our rooms to ensure the comfort of every guest, and appreciate all input which helps us to do so.
Most recently, we completely remodeled several of our guest rooms, and plan on continuing the process this February. Additionally, we added flat screen televisions in all of our guest rooms, and now roast our own coffee, which is available not only in the lobby but in each guest room as well.

At the Box Canyon Lodge, our entire team is dedicated to creating a memorable experience for every guest. You are all very important to us, it is our goal to make sure every guest feel comfortable and enjoy his/her stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your recent stay with us, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit to Ouray and The Box Canyon Lodge!

Happy New Year!

Kindest Regards,

Karen Avery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $118 - $1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing