We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went here for our honeymoon and 5th wedding anniversary. We love it!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Went here for our honeymoon and 5th wedding anniversary. We love it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Just a wonderful place to be with the views and natural hot springs on site. Comfortable king bed, nice mini fridge, good coffee serves in the lobby and helpful staff. It's a magical place, especially sitting in the hot spring tubs on the mountain overlooking beautiful mountain views.

Two upper tubs are hotter than the lower 2 tubs and their is an upper deck with table and chairs and above that there are 2 picnic tables and 2 bench swings - a great place to star gaze at night. You will love it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenLaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear LorenLaughs,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your recent visit at the Box Canyon Lodge, and CONGRATULAIONS on your anniversary!

The Box canyon is in the perfect location at the end of town; close to all of the restaurants and shops, as well as convenient to several great hiking trails, and yet it is easy to feel as if you are far away from everything when soaking in the mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in our courtyard area.

Soaking in the tubs, the views and soothing waters combine to create a sense of relaxation and romance which are second to none. The picnic tables and bench swings above the tubs, secluded from sight by the trees and hillside, are a discovery in themselves. Often guests remark on the wildlife they have watched frolic just a few short steps from the tubs.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you and your husband again and again!

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    145
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
119
329
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allegre, KY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the 2BR/2Bath Apartment. It was very spacious and comfortable with a full kitchen and living area. The beds were comfortable. It's in a nice location - directly next to Box Canyon where you can hike easily into the canyon. Also, the hotel has its own natural hot springs tubs which felt great! Did not see inside a regular hotel room so not sure if they're as nice as the apartment. Muffins, apples and juice in hotel lobby for breadfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Amy M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Box canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
Our goal is to provide every guest with a great stay, with clean comfortable rooms and service.
The two-bedroom apartment is definitely an excellent choice for travelers staying more than one or two nights. With a full kitchen, it is nice to prepare your own meal every once in a while to make more time for soaking in our fabulous hot spring tubs. Of course, our other guest rooms offer many amenities, including a small refrigerator and microwave.
Ouray is fortunate to have mineral hot spring water that is virtually free of sulfur, making a relaxing soak all the more so, since there is not the strong odor often associated with hot springs.
Located in the Southwest corner of town, The walking trail to the Box Canyon Waterfall and Park, as well as the Ouray Ice Park in winter months are easily accessible. Should you prefer to drive, it is an even quicker trip to these awesome spots, the road literally bringing you full circle back to the Lodge.
Thank you again for sharing your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at "The Lodge" many times. The staff is always very friendly, and helpful. The rooms are clean and well furnished, and while it is at the south end of the business district, the short walk to dinner is not a problem. If you must drive to the restauants there is usually no shortage of parking places. they have fresh fruit and muffins, to go with the coffee in the AM ..Would I go back again?... IN A HEARTBEAT!!! Hope to see you there soon. Bill H...

Room Tip: No Pool, But the hot tubs are great....If weather is cold get a room near tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Bill H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs!
We are fortunate to have a team at the hotel who takes as much pride in the property as we do, always ready to exceed the expectations of our guests- by providing clean comfortable rooms, and service that goes above and beyond.
We recently began our own coffee company, and take pride in supplying fresh roasted coffee in the lobby as part of a very light continental breakfast, as well as in each guest room.
The Box Canyon Lodge is located in the Southwest corner of town, convenient to the walking trail to the Box Canyon Waterfall Park and the Ouray Ice Park, and yet close enough to walk to all of the wonderful shops and restaurants on Main Street.
We LOVE that you and many of our other guests continue to return to the Box Canyon Lodge! You are extremely important to us, and the best testament that we are succeeding at our jobs is to see you time and again.
Once again, than you so much for your review, and we look forward to your next visit!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a nice mountain lodge just off the main highway. Rooms were nice and comfy. There are several old-style wooden hot tubs but they are very hot!

The only major drawback was the lack of a restaurant. Breakfast was only coffee and muffins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DynaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Dzimm,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.
The entire staff at the Box Canyon Lodge strives to provide a memorable experience for each of our guests. Each room is clean and comfortable, and our mineral hot springs tubs located in the courtyard of the hotel are not to be missed.
Each of the four tubs varies in temperature from 102* to 108*, in order to appeal to as many tastes as possible. On a cold winter night, with the snow falling through the steam of the water, that 108* tub is definitely our most popular!
Every morning, we provide a very light continental breakfast: muffins baked fresh for us by a local caterer, coffee which we roast ourselves, juice, apples and a selection of hot teas. We hope our guests take the time to walk to town and sample some of the delicious menu options provided by local restaurants who offer anything from decadent pastries to full hot breakfasts.
Thank you again for visiting us, and for sharing some of your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here last week in a Deluxe room with 2 queen beds. The woman at the front desk was very polite and helpful. The room was great. The beds were awesome and we got a great nights rest. We had a nice soak in the lower (cooler) tubs at the springs for a bit in the chill of the morning. The wireless internet connectivity was good. The temperature in the room is warmer than a normal hotel because of the geothermal heating they use. We enjoyed that; there is a unit to cool the room if it is too hot.

They seem to be very very eco-friendly. The in-room recycling program is a nice touch. I've never seen that at a hotel before and I think it is a great idea.

We would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 'deluxe' room. It was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbk3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Dbk3456,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us!

The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is currently a Four Key rating with Green Key, a program that rates hotels all over the world for their efforts in conservation. We are very fortunate to be built over a Natural Hot Spring, allowing for an easier conversion to Geo-thermal heat a few years ago. Additionally, we strive to be green in more subtle ways, from providing recycling receptacles in each guest room to shopping locally as much as possible.

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your room! We strive to provide every guest with a clean comfortable stay with all of the modern conveniences one expects when away from home.

Soaking in the mineral hot springs is definitely a great way to start your day, sipping coffee and soaking up the spectacular scenery as you plan the adventures of the day.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I used to visit Ouray and the Box Canyon lodge many years ago. 20 years later they upgraded the paint and the carpet but otherwise it is the same sublime experience. Have a soak and park your worries for a brief stay! The world can wait!
Service with a smile and a cushy bed too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leftie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear leftie9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property.

At the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, we are very fortunate to have such a great following, and a property and staff that so wonderfully compliment each other.

Through the years, we have worked to maintain and consistently improve the Lodge in order to meet and exceed our guests expectations. From new carpet and air conditioning, to converting the property to geo-thermal heat, our goal is to provide a "Home Away From Home" feeling, but with all of the modern conveniences our guests look for in an ideal stay.

Every member of our staff strives to ensure each guest a clean comfortable room, and exemplary service. Whether you are visiting Ouray to explore the magnificent hiking and outdoor activities, or to relax in the mineral hot springs and watch movies, or something in between, our staff will help you plan the perfect adventure in one of the most amazing places in the country!
Again, thank you for sharing your recent visit with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,


Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Would have been a 5 rating but there was the written threat that if you misplace your key it will cost you $20. I understand the frustration to hotel owners when trying to keep up with room keys but asking nicely for the return is less repugnant and leads to a feeling of friendly partnership (the feeling you get when you are in a really first class hotel) which in turn leads to repeat business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betterisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear betterisbetter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.

Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide each of our guests with a pleasant experience with friendly service, clean comfortable rooms, and of course the spectacular beauty of the Rocky Mountains.

The note at the bottom of our registration cards regarding a charge for unreturned keys is certainly not meant to offend, and it pains me to think this has occurred. Assessing a fee for unreturned keys is one of our policies which we have included on the registration cards, however, perhaps we do need to review the verbiage so as not to create any negativity at check in.

Our goal is to ensure the security of our guests, not to make them feel uncomfortable in any way.

Thank you again for sharing your time with us, and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouray
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing