We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple and rustic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, simple and rustic”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Would have been a 5 rating but there was the written threat that if you misplace your key it will cost you $20. I understand the frustration to hotel owners when trying to keep up with room keys but asking nicely for the return is less repugnant and leads to a feeling of friendly partnership (the feeling you get when you are in a really first class hotel) which in turn leads to repeat business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betterisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear betterisbetter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs.

Our goal at the Box Canyon is to provide each of our guests with a pleasant experience with friendly service, clean comfortable rooms, and of course the spectacular beauty of the Rocky Mountains.

The note at the bottom of our registration cards regarding a charge for unreturned keys is certainly not meant to offend, and it pains me to think this has occurred. Assessing a fee for unreturned keys is one of our policies which we have included on the registration cards, however, perhaps we do need to review the verbiage so as not to create any negativity at check in.

Our goal is to ensure the security of our guests, not to make them feel uncomfortable in any way.

Thank you again for sharing your time with us, and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    152
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
121
342
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Clean, dated rooms with friendly staff. The hot tubs fed by the hot springs makes this a unique property. Tubs appear to be old wine casks large enough for four folks. Four tubs of varying water temp. Other than the tubs, I thought it was a bit pricey. Don't forget to take the "million dollar highway on your way out. That road is worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riodulce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Riodulce5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Box Canyon Lodge in Ouray.

At the Box Canyon, our goal is to ensure a clean comfortable stay for each of our guests. I am so glad you enjoyed our tubs! We are one of only three hotels in Ouray with rights to the mineral hot spring water, which does indeed make us unique. We have taken advantage of the hot spring water in more than one way, by converting the entire property to geothermal heat a few years ago. Although the initial cost of the conversion was a bit pricey, the return to the environment is worth it to us, and has earned us a Four Key rating with Green Key, which is an eco-rating program designed to recognize destination properties for their efforts in reducing their environmental footprint.

The Million Dollar Highway is definitely a spectacular drive....I sometimes refer to it as "breath taking". With tight hairpin curves through some of the most amazing scenery in the country, the drive from Ouray to Durango covers three mountain passes and is indeed an adventure in and of itself.

Once again, thank you for your review of our property, and we look forward to your next visit to Ouray.

Kind Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just returned from Ouray, Co. We spent 3 nights at the Box Canyon Lodge, room 131 (Honeymmon Suite) which has a large tub. I'm 6'3" and fit ok. Not all stretched out but comfy with the Mrs! The hotels hot tubs (public) are just the right size with each a bit different temp. We found them to be inline with other natural hot springs tubs, great for nature lovers. The bed was awesome, big and comfy! Ouray is not a breakfast town at all as no resturant was open before 11am. Just as fitting, the hotel offers coffee, juice and local made muffins which hit the spot just fine. As there are so many things to do, the hotel is really a resting point for the next adventure and does so very nicely. The one drawback for us is the NO PETS policy. Certainly understandable and this would be the ONLY reason we would look eslewhere on our next trip so we can brings "the kids." Ouray has nice quaint pet park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n17wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear n17wings

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us, and happy anniversary!

The Box Canyon Lodge is certainly a romantic escape, situated as it is so close to Main Street and yet with a sense of seclusion perfect for a couples retreat.

The Box Canyon Lodge is a very small property, and we strive to provide a clean comfortable environment for all of our guests. In an effort to keep our guest rooms as free as possible of allergens, we do maintain a no pets policy. Also, because our courtyard area is high traffic due to the mineral hot spring tubs, we do not have an appropriate place for people to safely walk their dog on our property. I do agree there is a fabulous new dog park in town, and we are more than happy to help arrange boarding for your pet in the area.

Thank you once again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you next year for you anniversary!

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location, and has private hot springs tubs on decks behind hotel. Quiet and peaceful location tucked a couple blocks away from traffic corrider. Clean rooms. Good service from friendly staff. Will stay again next time thru.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLuv2Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear TexasLuv2Golf,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property.

Ouray is such a lovely little mountain town, and truly we are lucky to be located in the far corner. It is almost surreal how distanced one can feel from the modern world while soaking in the mineral hot spring tubs. My personal favorite is the middle tub. With spectacular views backing the woods, it is hard to believe that a number of fabulous shops and restaurants (not to mention Highway 550) are so very close!

Every member of the staff takes pride in providing a clean comfortable stay for our guests in a friendly, professional manner. It is always a pleasure to greet new visitors to the area and to welcome back those who have been visiting for years.

Thank you again, and we do look forward to your next visit to Ouray.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly. Eclectic collection of movies for in-room viewing. Quiet and peaceful setting. Highly recommended. The staff was willing to assist when necessary and gave good recommendations for movie viewing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Scott B

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us!

Our goal is to give each of our guests a vacation experience to remember. We are lucky to have a staff that is knowledgeable in the area and can help each individual to find the adventure they are looking for, be it an ice climbing class with the best tour guides, or a simple dinner recommendation.

Nestled at the base of the mountains in the southwest corner of town, it is easy to forget the day to day, particularly when soaking in the mineral hot spring tubs in the courtyard, and yet we are still such a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Main Street.

Ouray is a small town, and does close pretty early. Although we do have a number of satellite channels, we are pleased to provide a DVD library in our lobby. With over 400 movies to choose from, it is our hope that there is something for everyone to enjoy after dinner and a leisurely soak in the hot springs. Not to mention, many a friendship has been forged by guests as they peruse and discuss the movie selection in our lobby.

Again, we appreciate your review of our property and look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A great little place close to town. We didn't have a reservation and we were lucky enough to get a room. 2 double beds, very spacious and clean. The hot spring tubs were very cool so be sure to bring your bathing suit. Walk to town and enjoy shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Nicole M

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. It is always a pleasure to know our guests enjoyed their stay, and were able to take advantage of the Mineral Hot Spring Tubs here on site.

At the Box Canyon, we strive to provide a clean comfortable room for each guest, with service to match. The view from the tubs is truly one to remember, and a long soak in the soothing water is a great way to end a long day of travelling. We are located in the Southwest corner of town, which may sound far, but considering the size of Ouray, it is just a few short blocks to all of the great shops and restaurants on Main Street.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We checked in to a King room which was very comfortable. The property is well maintained and I would most definitely stay there again. The continental breakfast was a muffin, coffee, or can juice. The property had six wooden barrel tubs for the hot springs in sets of two at three different levels on a wooden deck. The water was a little hot for me but I managed to bare the heat in their lowest 104F tub and it helped me settle in after a long ride. The hottest tub was 108F and way to hot for me. My girl friend didn't care for the debris (algae) floating around. She said it made her feel that the water was dirty. I know this is normal for hot springs since the water flows naturally with debris. It didn't bother me as much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Chowjudge
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property.
At the Box Canyon, it is our goal to provide every guest with a clean comfortable room and excellent service. Our staff takes pride in their knowledge of the area from the best hiking experiences to the perfect restaurant for your tastes. We serve a very light continental breakfast in the mornings, complimented by our own coffee, which we roast ourselves here in Ouray. This allows our guests the opportunity to savor some of the wonderful options on Main Street should they want a full breakfast.
The mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in our courtyard are not to be missed. The water comes out of the ground at 140F, and we pump that into a cooling tank, releasing it into the tubs on a timed water in/water out system. We do not add any chemicals to the water, but do clean the tubs several times a week. On particularly rainy days, there may be more debris in the water than usual as run off flows into the waters.
Thank you again for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you and your girlfriend next time you visit us at the Box Canyon.
Sincerely,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
904 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing