We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean and Manicured”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Manicured”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We checked in to a King room which was very comfortable. The property is well maintained and I would most definitely stay there again. The continental breakfast was a muffin, coffee, or can juice. The property had six wooden barrel tubs for the hot springs in sets of two at three different levels on a wooden deck. The water was a little hot for me but I managed to bare the heat in their lowest 104F tub and it helped me settle in after a long ride. The hottest tub was 108F and way to hot for me. My girl friend didn't care for the debris (algae) floating around. She said it made her feel that the water was dirty. I know this is normal for hot springs since the water flows naturally with debris. It didn't bother me as much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Chowjudge
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property.
At the Box Canyon, it is our goal to provide every guest with a clean comfortable room and excellent service. Our staff takes pride in their knowledge of the area from the best hiking experiences to the perfect restaurant for your tastes. We serve a very light continental breakfast in the mornings, complimented by our own coffee, which we roast ourselves here in Ouray. This allows our guests the opportunity to savor some of the wonderful options on Main Street should they want a full breakfast.
The mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside in our courtyard are not to be missed. The water comes out of the ground at 140F, and we pump that into a cooling tank, releasing it into the tubs on a timed water in/water out system. We do not add any chemicals to the water, but do clean the tubs several times a week. On particularly rainy days, there may be more debris in the water than usual as run off flows into the waters.
Thank you again for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you and your girlfriend next time you visit us at the Box Canyon.
Sincerely,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    145
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
119
333
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's been a while since I visited the Box Canyon Lodge, and as strange as it may be, that's actually why I'm reviewing it. I visited Ouray a few years ago during the Telluride Bluegrass Festival, and we couldn't have had a better experience. My friends and I arrived after a long weekend and were greeted by a cheery staff, beautiful accommodations, and an incredible setting. It's rare that a hotel/lodge/motel stands out enough to make a lasting impression but The Box Canyon Lodge did just that.

We were fortunate enough to meet the owners of the lodge and it was clear that their influence was everywhere. Incredibly involved with the success of their establishment, and friendly as can be.

I hope to plan a trip to Ouray again soon, and when I do there will be no question as to where I will stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Kristy K,
It is always such a pleasure to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us at the Box Canyon Lodge and Hot Springs!
We take great pride in our hotel, and are lucky to have a staff who all share our passion for the property and our guests. We strive to provide a getaway for you that encompasses the adventure of the mountains with relaxation and great service. Ouray is a beautiful little mountain town, surrounded by spectacular mountain peaks, that offer vacationers a memorable vacation in the Rockies.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights recently here and enjoyed the setting, room and the hot springs fed tubs that are tucked in the trees on the hillside behind the lodge. The room was well equipped an clean. We enjoyed the huge selection of DVD's available, rent free.

Room Tip: I think rooms facing the mountain slope would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelismyjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear travelsmyjob,

Thank you for your review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs!
Located in the southwest corner of Ouray, it is hard not to have a great view! Our hot spring tubs on the hillside are the perfect combination of views and privacy. if you like them in the summertime, you should really visit in the winter! The middle tub is spectacular on a crisp winter night; with fresh snow weighing down the tree branches all around, and the stars blanketing the sky, the experience as almost surreal.
Because Ouray is a small town, everything in town does close a bit earlier than a city environment. Of course, after a day experiencing all of the great adventures in the area, it is nice to settle into your room with a couple of movies and relax as you prepare for the next day of exploring. We are always adding to our library in order to provide a variety of movie watching options.
I am so glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you next time you visit.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great hotel! We had a king room with TV/DVD, fridge, microwave....the hot spring tubs were so relaxing! The front desk is very helpful with activity and dining plans. The only complaint is specific to our room. Room 101 is right next to the lobby, and during the day, it gets a little noisy. So if you want a little more quiet, that's not your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Amber747,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.
The Box Canyon Lodge and Hot Springs is fortunate to have a team as dedicated to our guests and property as we are. It is our goal to make sure every guest has the vacation experience they are looking for. Whether it is helping with dinner reservations or arranging a canyoneering expedition, we want every person who visits us to have a memorable stay.
All of our rooms are equipped with flat screen televisions and dvd players. Our video library consists of over 400 movies in a wide range of genres for guests to enjoy after a long day of adventuring and soaking in our mineral hot springs. Some of our rooms are in more high traffic areas, and we strive to accommodate our guests with a room most suited to their requests,in the hopes of providing a restful night to all of our guests.
Thank you again for you review. It is always a pleasure to hear our guests have enjoyed their visit with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Nice, simple place to stay. Staff were great. Great location to downtown aswell .

Ouray, is a simple place in all terms. It is beautifull town! No luxurious places to stay, mostly motels. This place was clean and quaint and I would have no reservations about staying here again.

I highly recommend a jeep tour through the mountains if you can . That was awesome!
San Juan Tour's,,,,,, I believe,,,, were great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Romcollins

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in beautiful Ouray, Colorado.
The staff at the Box Canyon makes it a point to exceed the expectations of our guests by providing clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service. With the four mineral hot spring tubs tiered on the hillside, the atmosphere of the property carries a sense of relaxation and leisure.
Surrounded by over 500 miles of back country four wheel drive trails, Ouray has earned the nick-name of the 'Gem of the Rockies'. When exploring places like Yankee Boy Basin, it is easy to feel transported to the time the country was new, and somewhat difficult to picture the hundreds of people that once lived and mined on these majestic mountains.
Again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Box Canyon Lodge is in a perfect location, right by the hiking trails to the Box Canyon Falls. The staff were absolutely charming, endlessly patient with our daughter's endless questions and requests. We had a lovely spacious apartment which was very comfortable and well fitted-out. The natural hot tubs were amazing- different tubs at different temperatures. Ouray is a stunningly beautiful place and we'd thoroughly recommend a visit and a stay at this great hotel. We also had a great day trip from Ouray to Silverton which was a stunning drive, via the ghost town of Ironton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Je142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Jeclark14,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs!
Located just a couple of blocks down from Highway 550, in the southwest corner of Ouray, the Box Canyon is a perfect spot- not too far from restaurants and shops on Main Street, and just a short walk to the trailheads of many excellent hikes. It is only about a ten minute walk from our parking lot to the entrance to the Box Canyon Park and waterfall, which is a definate must see!
The four mineral hot spring tubs terraced on the hillside in our courtyard are ideal for soothing tired muscles after a day of adventuring. With so many different ways to enjoy this little town, the apartment is a perfect place to stay. Fully furnished with all of the necessities, the apartment is a great way to accomodate a family visiting for more than a couple of days.
Thanks again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to seeing you and your daughters again soon.

Best Regards,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

For years I have always wanted to sightsee this area & was a tad too far out. On our way to CA we stopped & so worth it. Town is nestled between mountains & surrounded by numerous activities. Hotel is in great proximity to hiking trails, waterfall & great mountain views. The hotels' hot springs pool were a welcomed relief-were smaller than we thought but it was restricted to hotel guests only. Various temperature hot springs through out their deck area-a tad too dark around the pools. Continental breakfast was sufficient to start out our day. Ouray even has a small ski area (according to a few locals their skiing area are basically "greens"). If you love hiking, picnicing, bicycling, skiing, ice climbing, mountainous views & waterfalls then this area is for you. Year round amenities-you will want to come back.

Room Tip: If skiing: visiting during winter will be inexpensive compared to Telluride & Silverton but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavery123, Owner at Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear 66anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Box Canyon Lodge.
Ouray truly is a beautiful town, and nestled in the Southwest corner of town, the Box Canyon Lodge is a great location; only a couple of short blocks to shopping and great restaurants, and accessible to several amazing hiking trails virtually steps from our parking lot!
Our four mineral hot spring tubs are about hot tub size, accommodating about four people in each. Tiered up on the hillside, and reserved for the exclusive use of our guests, a soak in the evening under a blanket of stars is just the right way to end your evening.
Ouray does have a very small ski hill on Third Avenue, just on the other side of Main Street, and Vinegar Hill has been the sled hill for over a hundred years - bales of straw at the top and bottom of the hill make it easy to find, and safer for the kids.
Just an hour away from Telluride, with shuttles that operate every hour or so in the winter, Ouray is a great option for lodging when planning a more economical ski getaway, and of course, in the Summer months, the hiking and jeep trails are second to none!
Thanks again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you this winter for some ice climbing!

Sincerely,

Karen Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs

Property: Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Address: 45 Third Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is Ouray's most popular getaway experience. We offer extremely clean, attractively decorated rooms with a unique rustic flair. Our rooms range from king sized suites to beautifully designed honeymoon suites. Our rooms come equipped with Satellite TV, Wi Fi, and microwaves. Kitchens and fireplaces are also available for select rooms. Our hot tubs are what keeps our guests returning every year. Utilizing the natural local hot springs, our barrel shaped hot tubs offer a relaxing and unique experience for our guests. Open all day long, our guests enjoy a beautiful view of the San Juan Mountainside, under a gorgeous sky or a blanket of stars. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our springs after a long hike or jeep trip up the mountain during the summer, or after a challenging ski trip or ice climbing excursion in the winter. The natural, beautiful countryside offers the perfect backdrop to a wedding as well. We are able to accommodate wedding parties with advance notice. Join us for your next getaway, and see why our guests keep coming back every year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Box Canyon Lodge And Hot Springs
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Box Canyon Ouray
Box Canyon Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing