We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean and Spacious”
Review of Hot Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Booked at the last minute and got a great deal on a room with two king beds. It was enormous. 3 hot tubs with a nice view of the mountains. They boast every room is on the River and I believe this is true. My favorite part? AMPLE TOWELS! Anyone who is larger than a size 6 can appreciate that all the towels are truly BATH towels, even at the hot tub. Within walking distance to the hot springs. Only complaint might be wifi is slow, but this is not a town/location where you'll spend much downtime. The first hotel where I've literally climbed into bed. extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 936 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were in Ouray for Memorial Day. The management is welcoming and helpful. The room and beds were very comfortable with a veranda overlookiing the river. Lots of Western-themed tchatchkes, but this only added to the charm. Microwave and coffeemaker and fridge in each room. The bathroom shower was great with a pull down showerhead. Lots of lighting for reading at night. Quiet and restful sleep in a comfortable bed.

The free breakfast was more like what one would find at a 7-11, but there were enough options to cobble together a reasonable light meal. More fruit items would be desirable.

Just a short walk to the springs and the center of town. Hot tubs on the premises (we did not use because we spent hours at the springs every day).

Good value.

When we return, this is where we will stay. We look forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Hot Springs Inn was fantastic. The place is right on the river and my room was upstairs on the end with a balcony overlooking the rushing water. The sound was very relaxing. The room was plush--very clean, very comfortable. The continental breakfast was good--i chose a boiled egg and instant oatmeal before my hike. I was able to do laundry on-site. The staff was very helpful. Since i was traveling solo, I told them my hiking itinerary and asked if they could please look out for my return and call for help if i didn't make it back by a certain time. They were very willing to help. There is a nice path along the river that takes you right to the public hot springs and then into town. It was very nice walk. I was so comfortable, i wanted to stay more than the two nights i had booked!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the river but i think the upstairs rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Hot Springs Inn is the newest Inn in Ouray (2005). Its rooms are large, with two comfortable King beds and every room has a view of the river (which in early June was just teeming.) Housekeeping is excellent: the rooms are very clean and kept up daily (and small touches such as the face towels being folded into "shirts" appreciated!). Complimentary breakfasts are excellent with breads, bagels, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and packaged doughnuts and muffins. The coffee is good! Staff is very cordial and helpful. We originally booked two nights but extended our stay to three. The Hot Springs Inn is highly rated for a reason, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

stayed two nights and explored the Ouray area for the first time. the hotel is clean, well-maintained, and extremely well-managed. the staff appeared to be the owners, and they were very courteous, and extremely helpful with info about the area. rooms are huge with two king sized beds, a fireplace, and a great balcony overlooking the river. we took an upstairs room to have a better view, and we certainly didn't have any trouble hearing the water! fun!
Ouray is a postcard of what a beautiful place should look like. we'll be going back to do some off-road touring this fall or next spring. summertime here must get a bit crowded.









1

Room Tip: you can't make a mistake. all the rooms overlook the river. you can see it better from the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I must admit that i was a little pessimistic about the good reviews that I read about this quaint hotel however as soon as we arrived at reception we were greeted and assisted by a lady who was a breath of fresh air willing to give us her undivided attention. Upon entering the room I was amazed by the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom as well as the striking decor. The beds were comfortable, the towels were fresh and I only wish the big chains could follow this example. The lady at the free breakfast was just as friendly as the lady who met us when we arrived. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danfm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What we loved:
Overall the smell and sound of the mountain river rumbling and murmuring just below our window in the evening and through the night. Its beautiful to look at as well. We watched a Beaver makes its way up the bank. Very peaceful.
The cleanliness of the room and hotel. Even the outside lights were free of webs and moths. The attention to detail was excellent.
The hospitality. The bright young desk clerk offered to help with a number of different things. I haven't seen such good service at the Gaylord or the Ritz, really. We thought we short two towels as we didn't see them on the shelf, and we called about it. Despite not needing any more, and telling them we didn't, they left extra sets just to make sure we were happy.
The rooms were very pleasant. The beds were very large. Our group was well accommodated. The decor was enjoyable.
The breakfast: ample and easy.
The price: really very much worth the cost here. Two king beds in a nice room would be more in grotty little city off a bad highway, so in this beautiful place, this is a steal.

What could be better:
There was very limited TV selection, limited channels.
As with so many hotels, the sink was in a different room than the toilet. When we all move into a more modern era, public acceptance of this will dissolve. No -one wants poopy hands on a door handle because you have to go out the door to wash.
These are minor minor negatives.

Room Tip: If you don't want to haul your stuff up the stairs, a downstairs room is better. They all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairwhether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Inn

Address: 1400 Main Street, Highway 550, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#1 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $118 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each clean, spacious room overlooks the Uncompahgre River with a private balcony, two premium king sized beds, air conditioning, refrigerator and much more. Take advantage of our on site laundromat, hot tubs and grills. After you plan tomorrow's adventure, enjoy an evening stroll on the Uncompahgre River Walk Loop located right outside your door. Come home to the Hot Springs Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Hotel Ouray
Hot Springs Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing