We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Ouray Box Canyon Waterfall
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Warroad, MN USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a very neat little hike to look at what the water has done to the canyon walls. I can imagine what it would be like in the spring when there is a lot more run-off, but it was still quite interesting and I'm glad we went. I recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cedarbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    86
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nature at it's finest.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The waterfall at the back of the canyon is fascinating. Nature can be very impressive and this is a good example. There are a lot of stairs if you want to hike to the base of the falls, but you can walk an easy, interesting trail to at least see the falls. I think it's a must-see in Ouray.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrs42011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Make sure you get out of your car at this stop it's easy to miss these amazing falls. They are breath taking and the hike to the falls s worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank codywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Box Canyon Waterfall Ouray, CO”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful water falls. Friendly staff at giftshop/entrance. 3 separate hikes. One down to the water fall - lots of stairs. One to the bridge overlooking the falls, steep but will marked beforehand. One around nature trail more level, leads to the stairs of water fall. Was well worth the $4 entrance fee. Beautiful creation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PnEe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I loved the hike from our hotel up to the canyon. The views were breathtaking. The hike into the box was a challenge for me because it was a catwalk. The view of the waterfalls was very worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank drumgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouray Box Canyon Waterfall also viewed

 

Been to Ouray Box Canyon Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing