We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - good portions”

Buen Tiempo Restaurant & Cantina
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
tchrs
Level Contributor
335 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good food - good portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The service was good. This restaurant is open for dinner and was very busy even on a cold December night. Service was fast and the portions large. We enjoyed the enchiladas more than the rellienos. Prices were good considering Ouray is a tourist town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    215
    88
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Why don't we come here more often?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

That is the question we always ask when we make the drive to Ouray and enjoy the cuisine and mixology of the Buen Tiempo.
This time, fresh oysters on the half-shell were the appetizer special and the excellent Margarita menu always pleases.
The Blue Corn enchiladas were the best this side of Albuquerque. My wife had the Tostada and it was all we could do to eat half the generous portions of each.
I remember the flan was great last time we ate here, but no way after such a large dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A gem in Ouray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Traveling to Ouray in the winter, your dining choices can be somewhat limited as opposed to the summer or fall seasons, so I was quite pleased to have an excellent dining experience at Buen Tiempo. I had the chile-rubbed prime rib and it was absolutely delicious. The atmosphere is fun, and the bar seemed to be the place to be on the particular night I ate there. I would recommend Buen Tiempo for great Mexican fare in Ouray!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Fantastic Mexican cuisine. I ate here for the first time this past summer and it was quite refreshing. Great selection and fresh food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheOriginal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“From Arizona- this is not real Mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The food is pretty good, but if you are used to Arizona or New Mexico "spice" in your Mexican food, you will not find it in the food here. The place is clean and nice, and the portions of food are of good size. It could definitely have used a little more "kick" as far as the spice goes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landcruiserbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buen Tiempo Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Buen Tiempo Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing