We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best museum tour ever”

Ouray Alchemist Museum
Ranked #7 of 36 things to do in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This tour is private and only 5 dollars per person. The guy is extremely entertaining and informative. I truly enjoyed this tour and is a must do if in area of ouray co.

1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayAlchemist, Owner at Ouray Alchemist Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you come again as the collection will expand with time, Curt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved the tour of the Alchemist Museum and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in old pharmacist techniques and antiques. The owner/curator is one of the most knowledgable people I've ever spoken with on these practices and he has a very obvious love and passion for the subject. His collection of antiques is impressive, but even more impressive is his knowledge and story about each and every piece! We took the last tour of the day and he was more than happy to stay late and share more information. There were antiques I had never seen or heard of until this museum. Ouray is one of my favorite mountain towns, and this is a museum that we will continue to visit each time we come to Ouray because I'm sure the collection will grow.

2  Thank mrandmrs42011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayAlchemist, Owner at Ouray Alchemist Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind response. We hope the make the expierence even better.Curt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I recently visited NM and CO, staying in Ouray for one night. We found this gem of a museum through Tripadvisors Things to Do, and loved it. We called in the morning, before the store opened, as it happens, and the owner/proprietor/collector met us there, placed a "Closed" sign on the store, and led us to the back through a gorgeous antique wall and into a fascinating room filled with beautiful and sometimes amusing collection of artifacts depicting the long history of how humans have dealt with disease through the ages. (Often scary to see the treatments they survived, or didn't)We spent an hour and a half and were both entertained and educated. Highly recommend.

1  Thank Tucson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayAlchemist, Owner at Ouray Alchemist Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed the tour. Curt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a neat experience!! The pharmacist closed his store, and took us into his own personal museum. He was a pharmacist for many years, lived very frugally and saved money to fulfill his dreams. He has a very large collection of things from the past. A very unusual typewriter that pharmacists used that was really really old. Lots of cool old bottles filled with medicine. A very neat cigar store Indian, and many artifacts that might have been in an old time drug store. Well worth an hour of your time, and he is very interesting and passionate about his collection.

1  Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayAlchemist, Manager at Ouray Alchemist Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the tour, Curt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is an unbelievable place. Quray is so beautiful in itself but this collection would be worth seeing no matter where you have to drive. We arrived late about 5:30 pm but when the pharmacist/owner/collector found that we were interested in the museum he happily locked the front door and and gave a private tour to our family of 6 to the museum in the back of the store. He was a wealth of knowledge and we enjoyed every story and the unique displays of our pharmaceutical history. Would recommend it to anyone. Kids under 12 would probably not find it as fascinating ours were a little bored but there were coloring books to keep them occupied. We thought the entrance fee was well worth it and we even bought T-shirts.

1  Thank cjmjco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayAlchemist, Owner at Ouray Alchemist Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your response. We will continue to make the expierence even better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouray Alchemist Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ouray Alchemist Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing