We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ore House Restaurant @ Beaumont Hotel...not so good”
Review of Beaumont Grill - CLOSED

Beaumont Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: .
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ore House Restaurant @ Beaumont Hotel...not so good”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We did not stay at the the Beaumont Hotel, but given the high acclaim of those who did, we expected a better dining experience at the hotel's restaurant, the Ore House. We were greeted and sat upon our arrival and our beverage orders were promptly taken and delivered. However, it was after the food arrived our dining experience (lunch) plummeted. We both ordered salads. I had the Greek salad and my companion had the Garden salad. These items might have ordinarily been acceptable (not exceptional) fare, but in this instance the tomatoes were a week away from being even close to ripe. Not a so much a big deal for my Greek salad, which featured tomatoes in a small supporting role, but were a much greater component in the Garden salad. We were confounded as to how the "chef" (such as he or she might be called) would allow these unripe tomatoes to be served. Regrettably, there was no checking back by our server after our meal was served and only at the conclusion of the meal was there an offer to refill my iced tea. . The tomatoes were left abandoned on our plates, but no mention was made by the server as to why the tomatoes were left untouched. We did get the sense that things were a on the chaotic side - possibly they were understaffed(?) Considering that the hotel seems to hold itself out as a first class property one might think that the food and beverage operation would be a whole lot more sophisticated. "Amateurish" best describes our experience. An unfortunate expereince for both business and client.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    35
    11
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Ore House -- A bit disappointing”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This restaurant has been renamed The Ore House, and is attached to the Beaumont Hotel. We did not have a great experience here. After a drink in the bar, we were sat on the patio, then largely ignored. We received paper-napkin-wrapped dinner ware; other tables had cloth napkins. They were so slow bringing our wine that the head waiter comped us on it. I ordered med-rare ribeye with fries, and received med-well with mash potatoes.

I must say in their defense is that we were served by the head waiter, and during our dinner he and another waiter had to literally evict a diner who was intoxicated and causing problems. This was disconcerting to us other patrons, and no doubt contributed to the less-than-stellar service.

We'll likely try this again next time we are in Ouray -- hopefully I can give it a better rating next time.

Web site and some pictures: http://www.beaumonthotel.com/dine.html

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeldiKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific food and lovely outdoor seating”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had dinner on the patio. very nice seating, food was the best of our trip to Ouray, Service was lovely, very attentive. We had a steak and chicken caesar salad. Would definitely go back, nicest evening of our trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kathku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always an awesome experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have never been let down when we eat here. It is now the Ore House but still yummy. Try the escargot to start. The service is great too ask for Dusty he'll take care of you if he's on shift when you visit. Otherwise the other servers we've had have been just as wonderful!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
202 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Charming bistro.”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Dinner here was a treat--friendly staff and delicious food. The restaurant is in the original bar location of the historic Hotel Beaumont---complete with the orignal 125-year-old wood floor--beautiful! The menu has a good bistro-style selection with a daily special--fried chicken the night we were there. I appreciate the variety of wines served by the glass. I recommend having the Creme Brulee for dessert....perfect. Enjoy dining in the charming room by the tiled fireplace or looking out the stained glass windows.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 8OOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing