We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the moutains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gem in the moutains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

The owners Chad and Dave were very helpful and take pride in their property. They actually clean the rooms themselves. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy the view then try their property. As a person who has been to Germany , Montana , Idaho, California and Canada I can say that this is the closest to heaven that you can get without involving a casket or cremation. All of Ouray is within 30 minutes of walking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fullerseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    96
    16
    7
    10
See reviews for
116
240
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

My family stayed 2 days here in one of their large rooms with full kitchen. The rooms are a bit dated, but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. The new owners, Dave & Chad, were very friendly and always available to help with any questions or issues. They are in the process of renovating/updating the rooms and also add new hot tubs.
The motel is pet friendly and is a reason we stayed here. The $10/day fee is very reasonable. Also, the rates are very reasonable, cheaper than other places in town.
We were very happy with the accommodations and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potranco999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, UT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

Cheapest room in town for a reason. TINY queen room with full kitchen. Barely enough room to walk around the bed but then a galley kitchen, which would have been cool had we used it. Water damage on bathroom ceiling. Huge, uncomfortable pillows on the bed. TV in awkward location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Hubby & I stayed at The Rivers Edge Motel between Oct. 4-7 with our 2 yorkies. We stayed in one of their family rooms on the lower level, since we took a friend and needed more room. It was the first time we stayed here, but we liked it. It's very pet friendly and the price was reasonable. The beds were OK...not real soft, but not real hard either. We didn't have a problem sleeping. We didn't A/C, but didn't need it, since it was cold outside {in the 30's}. Even in summer Ouray is not that hot. There's always an afternoon shower to cool it off and a cool breeze blowing in the evenings, so just open the windows. We had a fridge in our room and plenty of hot water for a good hot bath, after a day of jeeping. We found the managment to be very nice and friendly and helpful to us. The room was very clean when we arrived. It was cleaned daily... adding fresh towles. This place has gotten some bad reviews, In the past, but it's now under new ownership. I think they should be reconsidered for a second chance. They are very nice to you, so we would recomend staying here, esp. if you have pets. Ouray itself has changed a lot since we were there in 2004. I was surprised at how prices have gone up everywhere, esp. the places to eat. Some places we liked to eat before... had really changed. For one... the Silver Nugget {with a new owner, who doesn't know how to cook}. It used to be a good place, but not anymore. DO NOT EAT THERE. On the last day...we found a couple of good places for breakfast. The Bagle shop.. was good, good coffee tool. The day we left we ate at Kate's Place in Ridgeway... really good food. We heard the Pappion in the middle of Ouray is good for breakfast. It's downstairs, but closed on WED. The Ouray Cafe is also supposed to be good, but it too was closed, when we went there. The Outlaw still has good food, but is pricey {the filet steak is wonderful} about $24.95. For Mexican food... it's the Buen Tiempo or The Adobe Inn in Ridgeway. Let's face it... a good meal helps to make a wonderful stay, but Ouray could sure use a few more good places to eat. I think that's important when you're staying anywhere. All and all The managment at the Rivers Edge helped us find some new places to eat and treated us well. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorJeepsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

Just motoring around SW Colorado, booked this place for a couple of nights and would definitely do so again. Pet friendly (we didn't have one with us, but others did and it was OK), free parking, friendly owner, good price (about $100 for a king, whic was very comfortable).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

We read all the reviews before stopping in Ouray. I admit, I was a little nervous it wouldn't be that great of a place. But I decided to give it a try. Wow, all I can say is that we wish we had planned to stay there longer then the two days at the end of our trip! First of all, the owners are terrific. They haven't owned the motel for long, but already they are making some wonderful improvements. The room we got is the largest with the kitchenette. It was clean and spacious. We were so amazed that we got such a nice room for such a low price. The property is located right on the river, which you hear when you are outside. The view of the mountains is amazing. Location is terrific, and the hot tub is great. We decided that next time, we are making this place our first stop and staying much longer! The writer who said a jewel in Ouray was right. Oh, and they are so good about having your dog. Gotta love that! I really felt welcome here and just wish all properties were run so well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesmom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

What a wonderful hotel. Rooms are very clean. I understand they have rooms with kitchenettes, however, we didn't require that so we took the king room. Very large with microwave, small refrigerater, TV, hot tub just outside overlooking the river. Plus, it's close to most everything. Owners really try to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. These are new owners and have a lot of terrific plans for the hotel's future. I'm very glad we stayed at this hotel and would certainly recommend it to everyone. We are planning another trip to Ouray in the future and Riversedge will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing