We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lodging”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Bayfield, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful lodging”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our first time to stay in Ouray other than at the KOA Campground. We were there to spend a couple of days on the 4x4 roads with friends who had stayed at River's Edge before. Absolutely beautiful place....lots of flowers and our room was very clean. They serve fresh baked cookies along with breakfast and they were wonderful! I highly recommend this motel.....we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room with 2 queen beds and a front and back entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    100
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
123
248
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The owners of the River's Edge have done a remarkable job with this property. Room decor and furnishings were excellent...patio by the river was incredible...landscaping is over the top. The owners are very involved and have obviously put a lot of effort into making the River's Edge a very special place. And it's a block away from all the shops, bars, restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We come to Ouray a couple times each summer. . .always staying at the same inn. . .however, this time the inn was sold out. . .so we drove around town and came to Rivers Edge Lodge and immediately loved the way the place looked. . . was greeted by the owner who not only was very, very accommodating. . but, could not do enough for us. . . our room was immaculate, the hot tub was wonderful and the breakfast the next morning. . .wonderful!! We will never stay anywhere else!!! Highly recommend Rivers Edge on your next trip to Ouray, Colorado!!

Room Tip: Every room has a spectacular view. .it's 2 blocks off Main Street. . and easy walk and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a couple nights for the Imogene Pass race. Overall quite nice and a good value, but we had some nosy kids running around late at late and the stairs shook the place when they trampled around.
Breakfast was ok, waffle tasted kins funny. But overall considering the low price, a very nice place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pmsawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I reserved the hotel for 4 nights but could only stay 3 nights. When I inquired to leave one day early I was told I had to cancel the reservation two months prior. Yes I said two MONTHS. They charged me for the 4th night. Not only did they have the audacity to charge me for the full 4 nights. After I left I found out they rented the room for that night. Also they inadequately cleaned the rooms during my stay. The shower was not cleaned and they left a used coffee cup and did not replace the cup. plus many other things. Avoid this hotel like the plague

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad37, Owner at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Let us tell you how it really was. In September 2012 a four wheeling club leader visited our hotel and was delighted with everything about us. He negotiated room rates for his club. The plan was to book 10 to 15 rooms. The room rate he was given had a cancellation policy of July 1, 2013. This was based on a special room price. When a group reserves a facility, and takes 3/4 of your rooms it is necessary to get them to commit. Their leader booked these rooms January 9 2013. He assured us we would have nothing to worry about. All the rooms were reserved with guest names and guaranteed on his credit card. He knew the cancellation policy, he negotiated it! On August 1, after no cancellations were to be allowed, he called to cancel the first room. On September 8,2013 upon checking in he cancelled another room. We could have charged him for both of these rooms based on the agreement, however, we were greatfull for the buisness he brought to us and over looked the cancellation policy. He was not charged. One by one, as the rain continued in ouray, his group became discontented. If we would have allowed these cancellations, we would have went down a total of 14 rooms that this group reserved. Remember all the while we held these reservations, we turned better than 100 guests away who where planing vacations for these dates, january through sept. Our normal cancellation policy is a liberal 24 hours. This, and one other review from this group have taken us from second to third in the trip advisor lineup. Rest assure we will take as good care of you in third position as we did when we were number 2. Thank you for understanding the rest of the story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a wonderful place. So many flowers and lovely grounds, room was decorated more like a B&B than a hotel room, wonderfully friendly owners, great location, nice hot tubs, breakfast was light but good. It was really great to find this place. Clean quiet dog park behind hotel was great for our little dog. We even decided to stay an extra night!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in rm 21 which was right by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I would never stay at Rivers Edge again. It is the most unfriendly motel and would NEVER recommend this place to anyone who wants a good experience in Ouray. The owners, Chad and Dave are very rigid about check in (3pm and not before), do not thoroughly clean the rooms (sink & tub were not cleaned daily) and their cancellation policy is restrictive and totally unfair. They re-rented my room when I left a day early due to illness and would not refund the one night I could not stay! Unbelievable that they are still in business. Stay somewhere else that is friendly and fair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad37, Owner at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Based on our many other reviews, I think you would agree we are a pretty friendly resort. How would you like to arrive at 3pm the day of your check in and be told that your room was not ready. If we spend our time doing early check ins there is no way a small hotel could be ready when it is your turn. This person was part of a jeeping group, who thought that it was unfair that we would not check them in and give them a room at 10am in the morning. Our check out time is 11am. Did they want us to kick out the guest that was in there rooms? We tried to make them as comfortable as possible by allowing them to use our private facility to play cards and converse with one another. We had to listen to unruly innuendos as we cleaned rooms. As it was we had 18 rooms to fully clean by 3pm. At 3pm when the last room was cleaned we proceeded to check them in.

This person was also part of the group who all thought they could cancel their reservations and leave early. (please read review rebuttal "absurd cancellation policy") I don't think we need to beat a dead horse thus drawing out these comments.

We take pride in our property and the guests we take care of. We are on the job in many cases 14hrs a day 7 days a week. Our liberal cancellation policy is 24 hrs prior to ck in. This review we feel was generated out of animosity. Thank you for your time come see us to experience what the Rivers Edge is really all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing