We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Rolled in at 9:30 pm in a rainstorm and found this place. Our plan was to camp out but weather prevailed. They gave us a great last minute rate and a fantastic room on the upper floor with a full kitchen. The next morning we woke to the beautiful grounds and couldn't believe our luck, as we could not really appreciate the surroundings the night before. Right by the river, beautifully landscaped and super friendly folks. The location could not be better. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvergreenDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    101
    19
    8
    12
See reviews for
126
250
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Conroe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had never stayed here before, but after reading the other reviews and a great internet rate, we could not pass it up! We were in "AWE" over this place! I was expecting a regular room and instead got a small apartment. We go the room nearest the river and it was perfect, hearing the water, being able to sit outside on our little porch, whether it was the front porch or the back porch! The grounds are immaculate! Flowers blooming everywhere, we said we were in the Garden of Eden! Breakfast was good too. You could sit/eat at tables inside or outside. Make sure you meet Cody, the owners Bernese Mountain Dog, he is a huge bear full of life. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for room #30 or #31 (forgot which one) nearest the running river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherrillHooker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had no plans to stay in Ouray more than a night on our way from Durango to Denver but the River's Edge motel changed that! From our very first encounter with Dave in the office to walking out the door 4 days later we had fallen in love with that beautiful little town and our experience in this exceptional motel. Dave met our every need from the impeccably clean and well furnished room, a delicious continental breakfast every morning and perfectly manicured grounds along the Uncompagre River complete with dueling hot tubs for those cool evenings! The best and most compelling reason for our return in 2014 is the service. When we wanted to hike, Dave or Chad had a suggestion and a map. When we wanted to eat they walked us to the best pizza in town and when our horseback ride had to be rescheduled they had it covered before we even knew it was off that day. I travel quite a bit and stay in 4 Star hotels...none of which even come close to the experience we had in a little mountain town in southwestern Colorado in a family owned and operated motel. By the way....the rate was so good I can't even mention it...but we stayed 3 nights with 3 boys and we felt like we won the lottery when we got the bill. My favorite little spot in my new favorite little town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Sexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here in lieu of camping after being pushed indoors by unseasonably cool weather. The lodge abuts the Uncompahgre River, with the beautifully-manicured grounds and dual hot tubs right at the bank. The room was clean and homey, and the views from the common areas superb (typical of any lodging in Ouray), but the River's Edge is set apart by its extraordinary hospitality. I don't remember the names of the owners, but they were ubiquitous, exuding warmth and small-town charm at every opportunity. We will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City,Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We frequent The Rivers Edge about 3 times a year. The owners have treated us like family from the first visit. There is a special charm about this place that seems to have travelers/vacationers behave more like neighbors and friends than tourist just passing through. The owners appreciate all their guest as I have watch plenty of interaction. Dont miss an opportunity to stay here, you would just be cheating yourself out of a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are the same. Explain your needs and they can place you in a room that fits your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouray, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here with our family of 5 (3 kids ages 7 & under) and it was perfect! The service (Dave was who we spoke with) was friendly, knowledgable & welcoming. The room was a 2-queen suite that's great for a family with plenty of wiggle room. The room was clean and the view next to the river was amazing. Excellent value too! Couldn't have been happier with our stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights May 14-17, 2013 on the shoulder season special rate after reading all the great reviews here. This little hotel is a gem. The buildings are neither historic nor beautiful, but with the setting by the river, lovely, well-cared for buildings and grounds, super, super clean rooms and hot tubs, and the very caring, hands-on, friendly owners Dave and Chad, the place definitely has (cliche following)---soul. Even the other guests, their dogs, and trespassing wildlife were friendly and mellow. And the super budget friendly price left money in the wallet for massages and a few other frills.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give you and unobstructed sunrise views from outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwarren007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing