We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, excellent service”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here with our family of 5 (3 kids ages 7 & under) and it was perfect! The service (Dave was who we spoke with) was friendly, knowledgable & welcoming. The room was a 2-queen suite that's great for a family with plenty of wiggle room. The room was clean and the view next to the river was amazing. Excellent value too! Couldn't have been happier with our stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 502 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights May 14-17, 2013 on the shoulder season special rate after reading all the great reviews here. This little hotel is a gem. The buildings are neither historic nor beautiful, but with the setting by the river, lovely, well-cared for buildings and grounds, super, super clean rooms and hot tubs, and the very caring, hands-on, friendly owners Dave and Chad, the place definitely has (cliche following)---soul. Even the other guests, their dogs, and trespassing wildlife were friendly and mellow. And the super budget friendly price left money in the wallet for massages and a few other frills.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give you and unobstructed sunrise views from outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwarren007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for a night on a last minute trip thru Ouray and so glad we did! We had a lower level room with one queen bed, which was very comfortable. The room was extremely clean and had a mini-fridge that was great to keep our beer from the Ouray Brewery nice and cold. Bathroom was very well lit and there were plenty of towels! A huge plus for us was this hotel is dog friendly and backs up to a large off leash dog park. The owners were very friendly and the grounds were well maintained and beautiful. Two clean hot tubs sit right on the river for a peaceful soak as well. The rooms come with a continental breakfast and amazing homemade cookies. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Ouray!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were just traveling through Ouray staying the one night after traveling for several days. My sister had booked the motel for the four of us. Not sure what to expect when we drove up, we were pleasantly surprised at the rooms. they were large, with refrigerator and microwave and a table and twoo chairs as well as a sofa with losts of room to move around. The wood and paintings and furnishings as well as the bedspreads and pillows were so nice and well designed for the atmosphere of the western motiff. the free breakfast was fresh, with multiple choices and really tastey! the area was nice and clean and the owners kept it well stocked. the owners were the nicest guys and took great pride in the motel and it certainly looked like it. For a small town this is a great place to make a stop for a few days. We had a great tour at the falls and did a mining tour that was fabulous. would definitley go back if ever in the area again! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: choose the first building and the first floor as the rooms are larger and the hot tub is just feet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the RIver's Edge for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The room was perfect, very quiet, located right on the river, and loved the hot springs on site that we used every night. The owners are great and very attentive to our needs. The town is quiet and people are friendly. We hiked to two falls and saw a lot of wildlife while there. We will be making another trip soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmogumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May 2013. Property is next to the Uncompahgre River. The grounds are inviting and well maintained, with lawn, tables and chairs (and do-it-yourself barbeque stations) and hot tub. Rooms are in two blocks around a parking lot. Room entry is from an outside corridor, and the large window in the room faces that corridor and parking lot (if you are on a first floor room, you may not have a lot of privacy if you leave the curtains open). There is another small window in the room facing behind the property. We had a king room, which was spacious and had nice furnishings and a comfortable bed, coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave. Vanity was in the room instead of in the bathroom. Free wifi. Breakfast was a carbfest (would have appreciated some protein and dairy). Proprietors have put a lot of TLC into this property and it shows. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrza04a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Love...Love...Love The River's Edge. We just stayed one night in Ouray, we usually stay at Box Canyon, but lucky for us they were booked. What a pleasant surprise River's Edge was. Fantastic location, very clean and amazing grounds. The owners were very friendly as well! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $72 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing