We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beneath shady trees nestled in a quiet corner of town next to the soft sound of the Umcompahgre river is the best value in town. The surrounding views are breath taking, the beds scrumptious and the friendly atmosphere relaxing and inviting. The grounds were beautiful with Iris in bloom and location though hidden is within walking distance to everything in town. We highly recommend this motel to any one and are planning to return again as soon as we can. Do yourself a favor and stay here and we promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 501 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was just wonderful. My self, daughter and son-in-law stayed here for three nights. The owners, Dave and Chad are gracious host, they do their best at making sure that you have everything you need. I didn't feel like I was stayiing at a Motel, I felt like I was a guest at their home. The acomadations were perfict, every thing was clean and the grounds were beautifully kept. You can grill out side, there is a hot tub, and lots of benches and chairs, tables to enjoy the peace and quiet and the sound of the river and the birds

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

When the world gets to complicated and I need to escape, I head to Ouray. Unfortunately I don't get to go as much as I need to. The area is peacefull to the soal. I have stayed at a variety of places and have been treated well, but these guys at Rivers Edge treat you like family. They keep the property and building well and take the time to talk to you and laugh with you. They even meet return costomers at thier cars and welcome them home. They are great. Ouray is blessed to have them. Keep it up you two. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

These guys go above and beyond to make great recomendations for activities, restaurants and other logistics - client service at its best.

The grounds are very well kept, the hot tub was clean and the grill area was a perfect place to relax and prepare steaks (all grill tools provided).

You can walk to Ouray brewery and all the other mainstays with ease.

Did I mention the DOG PARK right next door? We have puppies, so the pet friendly policy plus the dog park is a huge value add.

We've stayed there the last two years and will return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasHornsFan512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed four days in the lodge, in the upstairs room. Nicely furnished, very quiet, comfy bed. However, my husband and I are in our seventies and live in Florida. Altho we love Colorado, we aren't used to the elevation, and climbing those stairs several times every day proved to be a bit of a challenge, even though we think we are in pretty good shape! Our room had a step down from the hallway into the living room, and a step up into the bathroom. This proved to be a problem, as I fell into the living room the first day, even tho the owner warned us to be careful. We did enjoy our stay in Ouray, but if we return, we will probably book a more user-friendly accomodation.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you don't care to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jxbigsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Best place we stayed on our 10 day vacation through NM & CO. Originally booked at the Comfort Inn but glad I called River's Edge & changed reservation. Dog friendly, quiet, gracious owners and lovely grounds. Free breakfast was just right including homemade cookies that my hubby couldn't resist. Hated to leave and wish we'd spent more time here in Ouray/River's Edge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txsweetlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from Rivers Edge motel yesterday after a 4 night stay, and, for the most part it was a very pleasant stay as far as being pretty peaceful, the owners being very personable, and of course with what Ouray has to offer in the surrounding scenery as far as this place's location, and the upkeep of the grounds of this place, all of that was wonderful & we would give it a 5 as a rating but for the rest of the content of this review.

We had a smaller room with a kitchenette ( which read further into this review about that for those of you that are condsidering bringing some of your own food to this place- we live in CO- so, yes, making some of our own meals was "in the mix" for our stay ) in which we also brought our two dogs which one would consider medium size dogs. Our room was small, but we made do, although there was not much room for all four of us in there to get around very well within the room,. As to this place being a pet friendly motel- in that respect some consideration of doing something to the stairs that one has to go up & down outsied of the building, even to & from the first floor, so that in the months when there is no snow, any dogs that need to go down or up the stairs, the humans do not have to worry about their canine family members getting injured or the dogs even not feeling comfortable at all about using the stairs. We have an almost 70 lb dog & one that is 50 lbs- so not able to just try & pick up our dogs because of their fright of using the stairs ( which that is not one of their fears otherwise) since they could see right through the stairs at this place and/or their nails could get caught! A simple solution to remedy that if this is going to continue to be a pet friendly place would be in the non-snow months to put some kind of mat that adheres to the stairs down the middle of them so there is a solid surface for dogs to walk on .

Here is what the BUT is about too- and any & all of you reading this review pay attention to this before you make your decision about your stay, or see if the owners have made any changes re: these things before you make your decision...

As to the room itself that we all stayed in- as mentioned, it stayed pretty quiet at this place, not completely, but that is to be expected in a place where others are residing above and next to you . As for the cleanliness of the room- upon arriving and unloading our things for our time there, I noticed a hair in the kitchen sink & a couple of hairs on the bathroom counter & in that sink. AND-when we arrived & were told the frig in the room was not on, that we should turn it on and wait for it to get cold before putting our food in there- as well as given instrructions on what temperature to put it at & where to put it back to temp-wise for it to keep our food cold, Well, even with that info provided- most of our food was spoiled while in the room frig as it froze or spoiled otherwise-depending on what shelf in the frig it was on. One of the first nights one of our dogs wouldn't eat- which is not like her at all! So that is when we began to realize the food was spoiling- in which her canned food had- so that was the first thing thrown away. Upon checking out of this motel yesterday, and my husband mentioning about the frig ruining most of our food- one of the owners apologized and said they were replacing the kitchenette frigs , stoves, etc, after the season is over & that they knew they weren't working so well! Well, for those of you reading this, & if that happened to you with your food- what would you think about that comment after you lost monies & food during your stay during "the season" because of the spoliage in the fact that the owners knew of the frigs not working properly?!!? Maybe expect something besides an apology ,such as maybe a discount, or something for that inconvenience of lost food & the money spent on it!! Something besides an apology would have been nice !

As you will see on this lodging site- the owners have their video mentioning they were landscapers and the outside of the place shows as such, but it is the inside of the place where people are living while there ! In closing, in relation to what was just written- our rating of 3 comes from all of what has been mentioned in this review as to our experience while staying here, and because in the end too- DEFINITELY more attention to detail in respect to cleanliness should be taken into account- even in the dining area where the continental breakfast is served as far as the owner using a clean cloth to clean a used table off -not his hand-as was done as such one morning when eating in there!

If all of the things mentioned in this review are changed to the positive so that ourselves, as well as other guests can completely enjoy themselves where there- then we may possibly consider staying at this place again in the future- but in a larger room.

Room Tip: If you can choose the location of your room, and you have pets you're bringing- choose an upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavender802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#6 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $73 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing