We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean.”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a pleasant 3 day stay at this facility in June 2011 on the banks of the river. Decent (but crowded) breakfast. Easy 1 block walk to the main street. Rooms were large and tidy. We didn't need the AC so don't know how it works. Outdoor hot tub was somewhat overused by kids resulting in cloudy water. Staff removed kids in evening for adults. Had a minor dispute after checking out but it was quickly resolved. We'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne064_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 501 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a group of 4 couples in the area and when we called for rooms, Dave, the owner, was very accommodating. Not only did he let us check in a little early, but he gave us a great deal. We had to leave early the next morning before their regularly scheduled breakfast so the night before, he gave us some extra coffee packets plus a breakfast bag to help us get on our way. He made us feel like part of the family!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and I strayed two nights at Rivers Edge Motel duing a special time of my brothrer, Neal and his new wife Tara getting married in Ouray. The room was a little on the small size but it was as clean and nice as they come. The two owners/operators were very friendly and did an outstanding job at everything. They made all of the family and wedding party feel very special. I would stay there any time I am Ouray. The rates were great. The grounds aound the motel were outstanding. We could not have asked for more. I would recomend Rivers Edge Motel to anyone.
Scott and Bonnie T. - Klamath Falls, Oregon

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfteeples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

What a beautiful spot, right along side the river. The rooms were newly remodeled and very comfortable. The owners were super and very friendly. We enjoyed our stay there very much and will stay there again in future trips to Ouray, Colorado.
Fred and Lynn
Cutler
Reno, Nv

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynncutler818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you come to Ouray you must stay here. This motel is on the only paved street in Ouray, outside of the main street of course, and it is only one block from town and all the restaurants and shops. The grounds are beautiful with large baskets of pink petunias everywhere, beautiful green grass, and a big hot tub on a deck right next to an exciting and beautiful roaring river. The rooms have all been remodeled and updated and the best room I think is in the big house with your own big private deck that overlooks the lovely maintained grounds. More than all those positive things is the friendliness of the two owners who absolutely bend over backwards to accomodate you and all your needs. Dave treats you like family and puts on a great expanded breakfast in the morning with make you own waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, etc. and his special home made cookies. You don't want to miss this place if you come to Ouray and when you come, tell Dave "Fran sent you"! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ouray_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This place is a great location, right off of Main Street so you can walk to the restaurants/bars. It is right on the river which is nice and pet-friendly. We were in one of the smaller rooms and it was pretty tight with 2 adults and a 65 pound dog. I would probably pay extra for a larger room next time. They had a free breakfast but we didn't eat there. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank FraceyLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My Sister, her daughter and I spent 14 days at the River's Edge Motel. Our only regret was that we had to leave. It was a perfect place, open the windows and let the cool air from the mountains come flowing through. The grounds were landscaped, lovely flower baskets hanging from everywhere, leaving the scent of spring. Go out and sit by the
flowing river for a very tranquil evening.

The Continental Breadfast was one great spread....your choice of one thing, or all that
was offered. It gave you a good start for the day of sightseeing. Or just staying in and enjoying the cool place we called home for the two weeks.

Plenty of parking spaces.....very quite as the motel filled up for the night.

Can't wait until next year, when we hope to do it again!!!

Dave and Chad were so helpful in where to go and if it was safe to drive a car or jeep. If the roads were open, etc.

Texas Three Travelers, Betty, Wanda and Nena

Room Tip: The 2nd floor, where we enjoyed snow cap mtn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella2Alto_Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 100 7th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ouray
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $72 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River's Edge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUIET PEACEFUL CONVENIENT Located on the banks of the uncompaghre river, among towering trees and fresh crisp mountain air, our motel and lodge boasts great accommodations, affordable prices, scenic mountain views and one acre of manicured gardens and landscape. Our Ouray Colorado hotel on the Uncompaghre River is located 1.5 blocks from Ouray's historic downtown. Our resort style accommodations are within walking distance of all shops, restaurants, attractions and the cites hot springs pool. The Ouray Ice Park and the well-known Ouray Box Canyon Falls are also a short distance from your stay here at the Rivers Edge Motel. End your day here at your "home away form home." Bask in our hot tubs or relax on our river patio. Come home to the Rivers Edge. Slumber to sleep with the symphony of the rivers song. Imagine life so good, it can't get any better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing