We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay for the Night”
Review of Ouray Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place to Stay for the Night”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had an unexpected stay in Ouray, and found this place. I'm glad we found it. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. We had a good night's sleep while here, and we would stay here again if we are back in Ouray. The price was definitely good, too. We didn't have the chance to try out the hot tub, as it was a quick stay. There's no breakfast in the morning, but this is in downtown Ouray, so there are plenty of places nearby.

There are old style speakers in the room that were playing music. You can turn it off easily by pushing the button, but we enjoyed it. It does go off automatically once the office closes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalimar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    145
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
93
174
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was there for my daughter and her husband's bbq wedding celebration in June. The owner is such a sweet heart. She made sure if we needed anything to be sure and let her know. The rooms are very clean and the view is 360 degrees of mountains.

Room Tip: Top floor because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, charming hotel that is close to everything and within walking distance of everything Downtown. We had a restful evening in a comfortable room and kingsized bed. The staff here helpful with local sites, a short trip to Box Canyon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed and reviewed the Ouray Chalet a couple years ago and since I started there this past weekend I felt I needed to update my review. The hotel is conveniently located on the main street in Ouray. Walking distance to anything in town. I found the room clean and comfortable. The bed was much better than the one in my previous review. The air conditioner is still in the bathroom wall and blows on your back as your stand at the sink. The price was acceptable during a peak vacation weekend. I have changed my opinion and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Situated in Downtown Ouray this hotel was everything we were looking for. We had an entire group and all stayed at this quaint little place. It is walking distance to major shopping and dining and the best part is at night, if you get the right room, the deer come to your window (in the back) Loved our stay, loved the service(early coffee) Loved the price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an "economy" room, which means there is no view. But you can just go outside and sit in the common areas, so I don't see this as a big deal. The room had one of those vinyl/fake wood floors instead of carpeting, and I think that was great! Felt very clean. Hotel carpeting is often pretty gross, I wish more places would use alternatives. Everything is very tidy, there is a small fridge and microwave in the room, and you can walk to anything in town. So I think it's a great bargain. Will do it again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bldrcoffeeluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The customer service is outstanding: they agreed to mail the eyeglasses I left behind with absolutely no fuss. They were also very polite the few times I called beforehand to secure reservation and when we checked in. Our absolute favorite part of the room was the little box on the wall playing classic swing jazz very quietly - it was quirky and set a mood - and you could turn it off easily by turning the knob. The bedspread was also a cut above. There was a fridge & working cable - I didn't try the wireless. A nice hot tub at the end of the row of rooms with an outdoor seating area. The location is superb - as previous reviews have said, in walking distance to everything in Ouray. It's also the most reasonably priced hotel. The pictures on the website are somewhat deceiving - it's not a mountain lodge with Swiss flair --- the little tower is all that's really European - otherwise, it's your basic American motor inn. I really like motor inns so wasn't upset by this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Chalet Inn

Property: Ouray Chalet Inn
Address: 510 Main Street, PO Box 544, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When choosing a Ouray Hotel, you have many options. The best choice is the one that gives you local, family-owned hospitality combined with centralized access to our unmatched outdoor lifestyle. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the local social life, shopping, entertainment, and the dining experience of this small western town. Ouray Chalet Inn is your best choice. Amenities, Parking & Convenience are the three "have-to's" for most travelers. Ouray Chalet Inn offers all three. Our commitment to our guests is to ensure that you made the best choice for a Ouray Hotel. Our amenities include, WIFI, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and satellite TV. We are located directly on Main Street, and offer Free Onsite Parking, and are only walking steps away from local stores, dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ouray Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Chalet Hotel
Ouray Chalet Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing