We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Ouray Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The girls at the desk, Ashley & Lora, were more than happy to help with the accommodations and information about the area. Hospitality at its finest! I did have a basement room, but I was there to see the town, mountains and roads. I arrived at night so when I woke up and went outside, OH MY!, what a view, in all directions. My room was nothing extra fancy but very clean and quiet and the bed was perfect for me. I will definitely stay here again and every time I come back to Ouray. Don’t forget to plan extra time to spend in the town. Everything is within walking distance. I had a great dinner at O’Brien’s, lunch at Backstreet Bistro and bought some chocolates and coffee at Mouse’s.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerN808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Ouray Chalet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 429 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I loved it. I'll stay here again ever time I come to Ouray! Helpful, courteous staff. Clean rooms. Everything worked. Free coffee in the lobby. Check in was a breeze. Convenient downtown location. Free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent 5 wonderful, but seemingly, very short days in Ouray. The pleasure of our stay was due, in no small part, to the Ouray Chalet Inn. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and the location is the best in town. When we return to Ouray, we will definitely be staying at the Ouray Chalet Inn. A GREAT place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room itself was more than satisfactory. Tv, microwave, small refrigerator and coffee maker. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean and adequate. The issue that overshadowed my stay was the noise. Motorcycles roaring in and out of the parking lot and the noise from the room above kept us awake at night and woke us each morning. Simple walking from the room above was so loud we could not sleep. All of the rooms were taken so we could not switch rooms. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again unless we had a top floor.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ew1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ouray was our first night of a 17 day road trip on our BMW motorcycle. Since our intent was to experience Ouray, we opted for the 'economy room' in the lower level. There was one window looking out into someone's backyard, but the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The price for these few rooms (4 or 5, I think) were conveniently below the price for other rooms. If we had decided to stay for a weekend, we may have chosen a room on the upper level with better views of the mountains. The front desk was very efficent and as a family owned facility for many years, they could tell me everything I needed to know to get around the town.

If we plan a stop in Ouray again, the Chalet Inn will be our first choice.

Room Tip: 'economy room' if you just need a bed and shower.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BibbsAndConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a little older to say the least.
However the staff was friendly and helpful, everything seemed clean, and I slept well.
What more could you want.
Maybe a continental breakfast? The refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room allowed us to have a decent breakfast so I'm not complaining.
I'd stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MerlinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here on a family trip this summer. We hadn't planned on staying in Ouray, but once we saw the town, we decided it would be a nice place to stop. The Chalet Inn is basic, but the rooms were clean and comfortable, the owners (who treat this much like a B&B) and the location were great...it's within walking distance of the downtown area and the Box Canyon (do not miss this).

We had one of the suites, which had two separate rooms and a small deck overlooking the river. The view was nice (not outstanding, but nice); but the tranquility of sitting with a glass of wine and listening to the river was very relaxing.

We really enjoyed our short stay... If you're looing for the Four Seasons, this isn't it...but if you want a nice stay in a beautiful little Colorado town, I highly recomend.

Room Tip: The family suite is worth the few extra dollars.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Chalet Inn

Address: 510 Main Street, PO Box 544, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ouray
#5 Family Hotel in Ouray
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $69 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When choosing a Ouray Hotel, you have many options. The best choice is the one that gives you local, family-owned hospitality combined with centralized access to our unmatched outdoor lifestyle. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the local social life, shopping, entertainment, and the dining experience of this small western town. Ouray Chalet Inn is your best choice. Amenities, Parking & Convenience are the three "have-to's" for most travelers. Ouray Chalet Inn offers all three. Our commitment to our guests is to ensure that you made the best choice for a Ouray Hotel. Our amenities include, WIFI, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and satellite TV. We are located directly on Main Street, and offer Free Onsite Parking, and are only walking steps away from local stores, dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ouray Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Chalet Hotel
Ouray Chalet Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing