We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Ouray Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Ouray Chalet Inn was nestled in the mountains (the "Switzerland of America"). It was reasonable and a great location to all the downtown sites. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and tidy. They have a fridge and microwave, which was an added bonus. I really enjoyed my stay here and you must go to the Mouse Chocolate store just a block away for homemade cookies and chocolates or a great cup of coffee.

Room Tip: The best room overlooks the downtown area on the second floor and is on Main Street! There are chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler311_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 444 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Central location , clean, quiet rooms, with mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Easy walk to all restaurants, shops. Owners are outgoing, fun and knowledgable. I have been coming here for the last 7 years in summer and fall. Wonderful area for all sorts of outdoor adventures. Owners have great suggestions and updates on all there is to do in town and in the mountains.
Rooms are comfortable, clean. Great water pressure in the showers! I'll be back again!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent the 4th of July here and had a great view of the parade and other activities downtown.The managers are really fun and outgoing and even joined in the water fights during the parade! A lot of former locals were in town and stayed here with their children. It is very family friendly and the rooms are very nice.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor....we were on the ground floor and could hear the people above u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneStarRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Remodel has been all for the better yet the charm of this place--sitting on the wooden chairs watching the sun light up the mountain opposite--keeps us coming back. It's been a while but it won't be again. Comfortable rooms. AC. Comfortable bed and shower.

Room Tip: First floor if you're cripped up. Be careful of the high sills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33657Ariadne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here as it seemed good value compared to overpriced hotels elsewhere. Even with no breakfast it is very good value. Interesting room with saloon style swing door. Good view of the mountains from the spa. Friendly cat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stvjyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and have been coming to this wonderful town over the past 30+ years. We have stayed in many different motels that have all been satisfactory. This is our first stay at Ouray Chalet. We now have a new favorite place and will definitely begin staying here. We opened the door to our room and just said WOW! Clean, spacious, comfortable bed. Nicely decorated. Flat screen tv, microwave, frig. Very well kept up. I also appreciated the strong wifi signal. BEST PART is the location.. On main street. Park at the motel and then an easy walk to the great restaurants and shops. Beautiful mountain views from the rooms. (We enjoyed a room with a king size bed on the second floor.) We've been here 2 nights, but are already looking forward to our next trip to Ouray and staying at the Chalet Inn.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here while attending the Telluride Bluegrass Festival. A bit of a drive over to Telluride, but I like the character of Ouray better. Telluride has become much too Aspeny. The in-town view is at least as dramatic in Ouray and access to fourteeners is good. I climbed Sneffels after a couple days in the festivarian sun.

My only gripes with the motel are minor: refrigerator is marginal with a tiny freezer; towels are over-dyed and non-absorbent. The AC is noisy and not very efficient

The location is good (right in town). The bed is o.k.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Chalet Inn

Address: 510 Main Street, PO Box 544, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ouray
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
Price Range: $71 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Chalet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When choosing a Ouray Hotel, you have many options. The best choice is the one that gives you local, family-owned hospitality combined with centralized access to our unmatched outdoor lifestyle. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the local social life, shopping, entertainment, and the dining experience of this small western town. Ouray Chalet Inn is your best choice. Amenities, Parking & Convenience are the three “have-to’s” for most travelers. Ouray Chalet Inn offers all three. Our commitment to our guests is to ensure that you made the best choice for a Ouray Hotel. Our amenities include, WIFI, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and satellite TV. We are located directly on Main Street, and offer Free Onsite Parking, and are only walking steps away from local stores, dining, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Ouray Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Chalet Hotel
Ouray Chalet Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing