We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Town”
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice non-chain place. Our room had just been remodeled and was quite nice. We were on the highway side and noise was hardly a problem. For $10 more you can stay on the back side. Creek trail is right there and we had a pleasant walk into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Last minute booking so only this and the Weissbaden had rooms. I'd stayed there before, so decided to try this. First impressions confirm the very good reviews, the rooms look nice, clean, well laid out, nicely redone. Great to have the mini fridge and microwave, bathrooms clean, good space. Beds were comfortable, linens and pillows good and seemed new.

On to the details, with some suggestions for the owners and potential guests. Owner, ya gotta spring for a few additional items - towel rack and trash can for the bathroom. I know there is a hook over the bathroom door, but pretty much every hotel room in America has at least one towel rack in the bathroom. Also gets them off the bathroom counter and gives more space. And you do need a trash can next to the toilet, okay? Especially since there is only 1 trash can in the room and no maid service to empty it. Several people have mentioned tissue, yes, a hotel over $75 a night needs to provide a box of kleenex. Towels are on the thin side, upgrade when time to replace. I think it's okay to have eliminated phones from the room, a good cost savings of something likely not necessary for most people. We were okay for 2 nights without maid service except the overflowing trash can.

The lack of air conditioning or ceiling fan is a bigger problem. The owner has done what he could with nice new floor fans and evaporative coolers for each room, but, in warmer, more humid weeks its just not enough. We did not want to leave our curtains open all night so the fan could work, and the room was uncomfortable - warm, some highway noise, some lights. I think the owner has done everything he can, but if you don't like the heat, don't stay here during warm weeks. Spring and Fall when you can leave the windows closed would be just fine. Bring your own blowdryer if you need one to save you having to get one from the front desk.

I rated the service very good instead of excellent just because we had a quick question at 3 in the afternoon and the office was closed. The hard-working owner had told us it might be and to just call the number, but we didn't have our phones with it and didn't want to hassle. No biggie, but not quite as good as a full-time person in the office.

Room Tip: Upstairs and back, center if possible so fewer people walking by if you need to leave your window op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank timetoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Ouray CAN be an expensive place to find Accomodation of any decent quality however we were impressed with what Timber Ridge provided for our dollar compared to other offerings

Service was very personal, they made special arrangements for where I could park our motorcycle which was appreciated

Room Tip: Rear room on the middle level, has access to outside chairs and tables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Matiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Timber Ridge on a long Western vacation through Arizona, Colorado and Utah. Didn't get in until late (after 10;00pm) but they had the key for us at the door and the room was very clean and comfortable. We visited during July which seems like the busy season because almost every other hotel/motel in town was quite a bit more expensive. The only thing keeping it from a 5-star rating was the lack of air conditioning, which is probably not needed the vast majority of the time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MRGMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wow, I don't think I am a terribly picky person, but our experience didn't live up to the hype. Maybe it was because we got the last room, this awful thing with slanted ceilings that we literally bumped our heads on many times. Nothing like trying to get in or out of bed for a bathroom run and smacking your head in the dark on the low ceiling. Steer clear of the kitchenette room! Absolutely hated it! I will say it was very clean. The air conditioning unit started making a terrible noise that required that it be shut off. No towel racks, no maid service, an unfriendly girl at the front desk, no kleenex, etc. The price was way high for no amenities and a lot of (literal) headaches. We will NOT be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the kitchenette room with the slanted ceilings! Terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. The staff was excellent. The rooms were clean with a nice flat panel TV. The hotel was located by the river with a beautiful walkway to enjoy. Great value for your buck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Let me begin by saying that my rating is based on price. The basic room was admitted fine. But for the money, it fell short. My litany of woes: No blankets on the beds, just sheets and bed spreads (and it is not that warm here at night), no AC (but it can be warm during the day), lousy internet, no kleenex in the room, no daily maid service, and no one in office before noon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge

Address: 1550 Main Street, PO Box 285, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range: $57 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Timber Ridge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AIR-CONDITIONING INSTALLED IN AUGUST 2015!!! Known as the "Best Value in Ouray", all of our spacious rooms have just been freshly redecorated. Highlights include: extremely comfortable beds with upgraded linens, adjustable or oversized shower heads, and a warm & comfortable decor. All room types now feature * Mini-fridges * Microwaves * 32" Flat Panel TVs * Coffee-makers * Private Bathrooms * Free Wi-Fi. We offer an extensive guest library in the lobby with several books & games to enjoy during your stay. Conveniently located a half-mile from the Downtown Ouray shops & restaurants, and just a 15-minute walk to the Hot Springs Pool via the nearby Riverwalk path. On-site picnic area with gas grills and a new gas fire pit for night time fun (seasonal). Relax in paradise or enjoy an active, fun-filled vacation in the beautiful mountains of Ouray! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing