We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best for your buck”
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of the cheaper rooms we could find in Ouray for a 5 day Mother daughter trip. Room was very clean, two large comfortable beds, dresser, table and chair, coffee maker, microwave, and mini fridge. Rooms are not serviced daily, but this was not an issue at all. We had more than enough clean towels etc, and we just called ahead for extra coffee etc. Nice deck area on back with bistro sets and on a lower level a fire pit with benches. Would be nice in the summer. WE watched mule deer walk through here twice on our stay.Owner was so friendly and really went over and above for us. He gave us many wonderful recommendations and we were not disappointed in any of them. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raineymorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 160 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Buhlers (ownership) were extremely warm and welcoming. They take a lot of pride in their facility and the experience of their customers. The room had plenty of space for 2 people. The room was simple and very clean. The bed was plenty comfy. We did not experience any noise from other rooms or the main road through Ouray (we were on the backside of the hotel). The Buhlers placed special touches throughout the facility and place an emphasis on environmental impact. Fantastic value for the price.

We would be happy to stay here again and support this hotel when traveling to Telluride, Ouray or Ridgway (1 hour drive w/ good road conditions & <10 min to Ridgway).

Room Tip: The rooms on the backside of the hotel have better views and less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This place is awesome. Perfect for a quick trip like ours, or a longer stay. The rooms are clean, and very comfortable, and the owners are very friendly. They have put a lot of love and care into this place, and it shows. We got a great night's sleep and enjoyed the gorgeous views from our room. We will definitely be back, and would recommend this hotel to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Comfy beds and pillows - clean - rainfall shower heads - hot water - quiet - best price in town. Owner is very accommodating as well. What else could one ask for?

No need to look elsewhere for next years ice climbing overnight. Found my spot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gcapNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Why is this place billed as "specialty lodging"? It is NOT special, and be careful - it is not always competitively priced. We were charged much more than the usual published rates, probably because the town was sold out that night. We moved to the inn next door our second night - they keep their rates consistent and offer so much more for your money. At Timber Ridge - you won't even find an a.m. pot of coffee in the lobby. Although the innkeeper takes pride in his "newly renovated rooms" - the layout in our room was cramped and makeshift with a portable fan on a tall, awkward stand and a clunky portable air conditioner crowding our path. Our one window overlooked a public walkway, allowing any passersby to look in. No privacy if you want fresh air! No phone in the room, either - you have to walk to the front desk and WAIT and WAIT and WAIT for the innkeeper to come down. Internet service was not accessible. Parking was tight. If we had paid a fair price or had been traveling with pets, I could see giving this place an OK rating. But no one likes feeling gouged. Also beware that they have a 7-day (or more) cancellation policy - much more stringent than other inns. And don't even try asking for a AAA discount!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the front - you will be roadside, listening to traffic, not the peace you came here t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwbpogo, Owner at Timber Ridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear JillJean,

You are correct that the entire town was nearly sold out on the evening you stayed with us. Weekends in September are always very busy in Ouray, and peak-season rates are in effect. That being said, the rate you paid was actually less than the average rate throughout town for that evening. In fact, we commonly offer some of the most affordable rates in Ouray and we offer them to all guests, not just to those who carry a AAA card. Regarding your room; you are correct that we take great pride in our newly renovated rooms. Our entire hotel has been extensively remodeled over the past 2 years and the vast majority of our guests have been quite pleased with their accommodations. We have been referred to as the "Best Budget Lodging Option in Ouray" on multiple occasions and we will continue to make improvements to the property and keep our rates competitive to remain as such.

MOST IMPORTANTLY: When traveling in the future, it is always best to inform the hotelier immediately if you are unhappy with something and give them an opportunity to resolve the problem, rather than simply writing a negative review after you get home. If you had notified us, we would have gladly offered you a different room or even contacted other properties to find you a more suitable hotel that might possibly have met your expectations.

Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations and hope you visit Ouray again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room. Even had a fan to use which meant we didn't have to bring in ours (bonus)!! Exceptionally clean, looks like it has recently been remodeled. People upstairs were really loud, sounded like they were herding elephants up there. Would definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PierceGravette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just spent 5 day at Timber Ridge Lodge. This was and excellent experience. The rates were reasonable, and our room was very clean, updated and offered all the usual amenities. Plus, the firepit, grills, picnic area and outdoor seating allowed us to enjoy the outdoors rather than just return to a room at the end of the day. The owners are on the property, often work at the desk and were available to address any of our needs. they are knowledgable of the area and offered input on places to hike, eat and visit. We not only felt valued as customers but as fellow appreciators of this beautiful niche of the Rockies. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: second floor offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#11 of 15 in Ouray
161 reviews
1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge

Address: 1550 Main Street, PO Box 285, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Timber Ridge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AIR-CONDITIONING INSTALLED IN AUGUST 2015!!! Known as the "Best Value in Ouray", all of our spacious rooms have just been freshly redecorated. Highlights include: extremely comfortable beds with upgraded linens, adjustable or oversized shower heads, and a warm & comfortable decor. All room types now feature * Mini-fridges * Microwaves * 32" Flat Panel TVs * Coffee-makers * Private Bathrooms * Free Wi-Fi. We offer an extensive guest library in the lobby with several books & games to enjoy during your stay. Conveniently located a half-mile from the Downtown Ouray shops & restaurants, and just a 15-minute walk to the Hot Springs Pool via the nearby Riverwalk path. On-site picnic area with gas grills and a new gas fire pit for night time fun (seasonal). Relax in paradise or enjoy an active, fun-filled vacation in the beautiful mountains of Ouray! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing