We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brewpub in one of our favorite towns!”
Review of Ouray Brewery

Ouray Brewery
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Ouray
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Ouray Brewery is open daily. Our brewery has three levels — with fine food and outstanding craft brews offered on each floor. Level one houses our kitchen and intimate pub. Level two offers our main dining area and brewery. And level three boasts the only rooftop patio in the “Switzerland of America” — Ouray, Colorado.Ouray has all the right ingredients — unspoiled scenery and water, a great local community and culture and close proximity to other great breweries. Come join us for a brew and a taste of all Ouray and Ouray Brewery have to offer. Our brewmaster is Jeff Lockhart. His creations include:Alpine AmberAutum Rye AleBox Canyon Brown AleCamp Bird BlondeSan Juan IPASeasonal Brews: Our seasonal offerings include Saisons, Alts, Stouts and Porters. Check with your server when visiting to see what’s currently on tap.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A brewpub in one of our favorite towns!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The brewery wasn't in existence on our last trip here, so it was delightful to try out yet another great Colorado brewery. We recommend the Brown Ale, it was the best. We both had burgers, my wife's was a little rare for her liking, but the burgers were good and the buns unique,square and more like big dinner rolls. Fries are home cuts, also good. Seating is very limited we split a dessert, a Stiut based chocolate brownie with a scoop of vanilla but what really set it off was a hint of orange in the chocolate sauce drizzled on. Delightful. The brewery is offsite, but they won't run out of beer for you....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    387
    182
    48
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Atmosphere nice, food poor”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We should've known what we were in for when we had to wait about 15 minutes past opening time for them to unlock the door.

The service and beer were good. The food was poor. Long wait, no flavor, and served cold.

With all the other choices, you'd be better off elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richelleh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a really good time at Ouray Brewery. Their outdoor seating is awesome, you have a great view of the town and when we went it was a beautiful day which just made it so much better. The antipasto appetizer is to die for! My finacee had a great hamburger. The beer is good and the prices are excellent for the amount of food you get. It made a great day even better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“End of season slump”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Obviously this was the end of the season for what must have been an exhausting summer. The beer was good but served in plastic glasses which may have been because we were on the outside roof area. Food was served on paper yet was good quality. Soups were good and other choices were small.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 51BetteS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rooftop patio has great brews and views”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lets face it: when you go to a brewery, chances are you just want to relax. So your expectations aren't low necessarily, they're just, well, relaxed. Well, don't worry about relaxing your expectations here. The beer is fresh and made in small batches in town. The views from the rooftop are spectacular. And if you're in Ouray, life is good! I've been here several times, and always gravitate to the rooftop seating (open in warmer months obviously). There is great bar-style seating right on the edge of the roof (it's secure with tasteful wire fencing material underneath the bar, so purses, shopping bags, and kids are totally safe). This seating is preferable when the sun isn't too intense, as you can gaze down onto the main street below, or up into the gorgeous San Juan Mountains towering above you. When the sun is beating down, there are shade canopies spread out above several large picnic tables. On my last trip there, I just went up to the small bar there, gave my orders to the bartender, and brought my drinks back to the table for the family. You can open a tab, or pay for food and drinks up front. Good food choices, too. I ordered the Southwestern burger, but substituted the meat for their home-made vegan garden burger. Simply outstanding! I can't speak for the dining room experiences (on the ground floor and 2nd level) because I've never eaten inside, but I love the decor. The bar stools This is easily a no-brainer destination for cold micro-brews a great bite-to-eat after a day of enjoying Little Switzerland of America. So grab a cold one, wave to the people below, and relax.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ouray Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing