We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"... I need to disinfect!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maggie's Kitchen

Maggie's Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"... I need to disinfect!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Ok... So we live in wisconsin and we have been here 2 times in 3 years. The first time we were here was on a bike trip backpacking and we thought it was the only place open for coffee before going to the million dollar highway. The outside of the restaurant is very non-commercial and unassuming... When we walked in the white walls were covered with peoples names dates and places in handwritten form and picnic tables and benches adorning the place. The order for the couple next to us was done and the cook notified them by saying "pancake people.. Your Oder is done". When our order was done we were notified by "...beam me up Scotty... Your order is ready"... Adding humor to the experience. As we were eating our home style breakfast, a young man came in and asked across the restaurant " do you have any knives for me to sharpen for a burger". The cook said "no, but you could take out the garbage for one". Amazing! This time we had our son "Giesel " with us... We ordered and elk burger, bison burger and beef burger. We were told they didn't have bison burgers but they had buffalo burgers!. Our son climbed up on the counter to write his name where we did 3 years ago... The cook immediately yelled " get that kid down from there". We got him down quickly and were not quite sure what the problem was as we did this 3 years ago... The waitress came over with a spray bottle saying " I need to disinfect, I need to disinfect"! Ha ha! It was great! As we sat down to our wild game feast, the waitress continued to yell out names of customers very obnoxiously for their orders! She was so loud, she yelled out the front door for one customer so loudly, she scared the 2 little old ladies right out of their chairs!! This adds to the unique and charismatic experience of Maggie's!!! It is absolutely worth your time to stop in ... And enjoy your ride!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Hansseyandfranssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    132
    42
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I had a cheeseburger that was delicious. My husband has a fish sandwich which was just okay. Fries were pretty good too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaraL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“That's a burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a unrepentant big burger done right! Paired with a beer from the Mr Grumpy pants brewery it is an all American stomach busting plate full of awesome

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azle tx
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“420 burger -lol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

LOL get this burger but split it with someone...unless you are celebrating 420.. Huge burger- brisket- onions, fried onion rings ..it is about 5 -6 inches tall- no lie...As my husband carried it out to our table- people were stopping him and asking him what it was...the name cracked us up!! (as people who lived through the 70's)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank redAzleTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place for Burgers & Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a very simple place to eat with just burgers and fries and various other items (salads, chicken sandwiches and few more). The menu is very simple on a chalkboard and you just walk up and order. They are quick and you can have your dogs on the patio.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RockyMtnHighker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Maggie's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing