We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Burgers & Dog Friendly”
Review of Maggie's Kitchen

Maggie's Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Larkspur, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place for Burgers & Dog Friendly”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a very simple place to eat with just burgers and fries and various other items (salads, chicken sandwiches and few more). The menu is very simple on a chalkboard and you just walk up and order. They are quick and you can have your dogs on the patio.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RockyMtnHighker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    153
    47
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Burger But Think CLEANING & PAINTING!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Good burger and onion rings but that is all. This establishment is in serious need of a make over AND scrubbing. The "theme" is obviously Frat House with every inch of wall, door facing, window trim and door autographed/graffiti'ed with Sharpie markers. It appears to be very dirty, and not kept up with. Sitting on the porch eating our dinner, we watched a total of 5 families walk up, look in and change their minds from going in. The food is good, but I could only imagine with the limited amount of restaurants in Ouray you would seriously take a look at fixing up the place with fresh paint and a good-clean theme to increase your volume of customers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“VERY tasty burger!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The place doesn't look like much, but don't let that fool you! This is a very local, no-nonsense eatery whose proprietor reminded me of a New York City street vendor in the way he hawked his burgers and harangued his customers. A very eclectic venue with a burger that is not to be missed if you are in Ouray!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuperToddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This place is unique, just like Ouray. A gem of its kind if you will. I remember my first visit here, the walls were white and the establishment was kinda slow and outside they had a picture of a Celebrity who endorsed the place at the time as "The best hamburger in Ouray!" Intrigued I went in and damn best hamburger hands down!!

I visit once if not more a year to Ouray and make it a stopping place each trip. The owner (the cook who looks like he is methed out) used to be calm cool and collected now he is just a jerk. He will make snide remarks to his customers and be even nastier to any female that asks him a "dumb" question.

They had a sign up "This isn't McDonald's or Burger King...You don't have it your way" Drinks are served in buckets of ice, condiments are on a table such as buffet style. Tables are often dirty and written on.

People, Ouray is a Vacation spot, a Tourist spot, this place is SUPER busy because they are labeled as the best hamburger! The people do not have time for stupidity. Go in and ENJOY this unique restaurant. Take your time on ordering, they will try to rush you and be nasty put their remarks to the side and order your food.

Sit outside, or stay inside and listen to his remarks,you might just get a smile out of them. He means good, he is just an jerk. :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DM970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW USA
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Funky place to eat on Main Street”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Ate here on our first night. a funky place to eat, we ate outside on the terrace. You go in and order your food and then pay for it when you get it. Good prices. We got a buffalo burger with fries for 10 dollars. Good portion, great taste. They holler out your name and you go pick it up. You go through the door next to the restaurant and order your beer from the Mr. Grumpy Pants Brewing Co. which is a local Brewery. Great prices on great beer, 26 oz. for 7 dollars and 20 oz. for 5 dollars. Very casual, great with kids. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelNowSwUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Maggie's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing