We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest trout fillet ever”

The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairfield, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Biggest trout fillet ever”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We sat at the bar and talked to Adam. Got some suggestions on what to see and do. Had great local red brew called 2 rascals and a really good trout dinner.
Love the painting on the bar room floor and the charming atmosphere. It's not on the Main drag so it's a bit quieter and you can totally travel back in time if you have a bit of imagination.
Oh... Have the wild mushroom bisque, it's delicious too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank feedmefarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good homemade crust pizza”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Went here at end of jeep trip from this hotel. Service was great by one single lady:). Creme brûlée was great too. Eating outside was an added treat with great views!

Helpful?
1 Thank nicholsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our tour group, had breakfast and dinner at this establishment. We enjoyed our meals and the character of the building. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful. I'd go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A meal in the past”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Western Hotel is a working hotel with a old time saloon and rooms decorated in 1890's styles. Our meal was in a room with a buffalo head and fancy wallpaper. The food was excellent. The margaritas lived up to their claim that they are the best in the west. But it is the atmosphere that makes the evening memorable.

We were there on a Sunday night and the place was unexpectedly busy. The staff was overwhelmed. They apologized. It took a while for our food to arrive, but since one of our diners was delayed and the company was excellent, we didn't mind. You should be in Ouray to relax and enjoy yourself in any case!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome steak! Stick to specials and dessert.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here recently while vacationing in Ouray. Three of us had the steak which was amazing, one had trout, and one had a chicken salad and another the chicken sandwich. Highly recommend it! The margaritas were also superb. The service was a little slow and they ran out of their specials right after they served us. But we had a large group of 6 people and they seated us right away. The atmosphere is great, too, and you feel like you have traveled back in time. We were sitting next to locals who said the specials and dessert are the best in town but to avoid the lasagne. We did as we were told and it was a wonderful meal!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CRQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing