We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic setting for a light meal”

The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Historic setting for a light meal”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were hungry for a lighter dinner, so we stopped by the Saloon for a pizza. The service was excellent, and the food was pretty good, although we should have taken the waiter's advice and ordered a simpler pizza. The "Ore Cart" has a ton of stuff on it, so dinner wasn't so light. Pizza was thin-crust, very tasty. The draft beer selection was just OK, but if you want more go across the street to the Ourayling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WIsconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great pizza, terrific beer on tap.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a very nice pizza, Ceaser Salad and couple of cold brews after a day of doing the passes in our jeep. Very nice bartender Greg the teacher from Ohio, friendly guy. We originally stopped in at the pizza place on the main drag but the young ladies working there were more interested in their phones and walking around not paying attention to us, the only people inside after 10 minutes we left and ended up at the Western, glad we did!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DYAN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nothing special about the food. History though definitely special”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We needed somewhere in town for a lunch before an off road jeep trip. With t he Western next door to the tour company and its history in Ouray we thought it would be good for a quick lunch.

The actual hotel is very interesting, from the lady's face painted on the wall to wallpaper over 100 years old in one of the rooms.

The same cannot be said about a bland sandwich and fries shared between us. Service, from a knowledgeable barman/server, was very good

The rating would certainly be lower if based on food alone (we know it should, but).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great meal here with 2 children who liked it too!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We ate at the Western on July 3 and had a wonderful experience. The food was excellent--older grandson fell in love with the BBQ chicken wings--and the service great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texanbybirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great Place - Great Food”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The place has a very interesting atmosphere, nestled in an old western saloon. The burgers and pizza were both very tasty, and flavorful. Every one in the group had a great time and we will definitely be stopping back on our next trip through Ouray.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing