We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in town”

The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
201 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I love this place. Everything is hand made. The mountain man pizza is the equivalent of a meat lovers pizza. The salads are Hugh and can be shared. The ambiance is fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, questionable service”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've eaten here 2 times in the past month. Both times were for business. It's a restaurant that has some really great food, but the whole place suffers from an identity crisis. For instance, the "western" motif in the bar consists of a fairly authentic looking bar but the wall decor is a combination of mounted deer heads and a stuffed marlin. The food prices and quality should fit into a 3 star restaurant, but you sit down to cafeteria quality flatware wrapped in a paper napkin. The servers are very polite and cordial, but you can sit for a very long time before anyone comes to take your order. In both visits, I/we were seated and it took an extraordinarily long time to get the water to the table and take the order. After that, it was another long time to get the meal. I have no issue with the food; the meals were prepared to perfection. However, the ambiance and service leave a lot to be desired.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MITraveler49829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrible”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

the service was horrible. waited 20 min before we got water, took 50 until we got food and thats with my hsb getting up and complaining.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sdt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistently good meal in Ouray!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We've now eaten at the Historic Western Hotel 4 times during two (2) different trips to Ouray. Each time the food was excellent. They have the best sweet potato fries any of our party had ever had!!! I'd go back just for those fries. The ambience is nice - authentic & historical. All members of our party said their food was excellent. My husband had a steak that was like a tender filet. I had a burger - outstanding. I think they make some of their own salad dressings. And the price is moderate, not too expensive. We will eat there again when next in Ouray and highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovedoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food, great prices”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We ate here several times as they were the most affordable place in town. Their pizza was great and I had a buffalo burger that was one of the best I have ever had. Their chef definitely knows her stuff!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing