We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Music Great, Service/Food Not So” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel - CLOSED

The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marshall, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Music Great, Service/Food Not So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We took a seat on the patio & 10min later the server ran by saying he would be right with us. Another 5 had him at the table and we gave our full order. For Drinks we ordered iced tea, water and a ginger Ale. my side soup arrive, by server, before our drinks. He said he had to go check on them(like we ordered alcoholic drinks) He came back with drinks and the ginger ale was watered down due to sitting somewhere and all ice melting. The food came in decent time but was nothing special to speak about. I think this server was the only one on patio and by watching, he NEEDED help. He was very confused and not too good at consolidating. I saw many tables either leave or get up and ask for service as they had been sitting awhile w/o recognition. Only good thing was there was nice live music going on.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
361 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“AMAZING HISTORY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The painted lady on the floor and the history in the photos.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh, home-made food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Off the beaten path, The Historic Western Hotel is home to some of the best, freshest, home-made food in Ouray! Built in 1891, the atmosphere is real, Old West - emphasis on old. This is an original building. The bar is old, wooden and full of character and the food is simply delicious!
Extremely fresh and home-made with a knock-out presentation too! Rose doesn't open the restaurant until after 4pm, but it's well worth the wait! Do yourself a a favor and don't miss this place! Service is friendly and fast!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was good, atmosphere lacking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Food was good-I had a burger-but it took a while (or maybe we were really hungry!).
I was expecting a bit more from the decor-it was a bit shabby. It could be a really great place it they invested in some new furniture. I guess when I pictured eating at this historic hotel (which looks cool from the outside) I thought the experience inside would go with that theme.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were there Saturday night before Labor Day. It seemed the staff were all running around like crazy, I imagine slammed by the holiday weekenders. We had a nice server who seemed overly booked. The food was fine. I had the Caesar with smoked salmon The dressing was a bit thickly applied, but it was still flavorful. My husband had the trout and it was good. I can't say this was great food, but it didn't have an hour wait like some other places and still offered a nice dining experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mmhaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon at the Historic Western Hotel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing