We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Candy Shop and Chocolatier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mouses Chocolates and Coffee

Mouses Chocolates and Coffee
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 2001. We are a small family of chocolatiers and coffee roasters living in a small town nestled in the San Juan Mountains in the southwest corner of Colorado. We use only the finest Belgian chocolate and make everything by hand. Our shop is open everyday except Christmas. Stop by if you are in the neighborhood. We'd love to hear stories about how our chocolate has been a part of your lives. It brings us together in our love for chocolate, fine ingredients and sharing them with our family and friends.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Candy Shop and Chocolatier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am not certain that Willy Wonka does not spend his winters in Ouray, CO. Perhaps he enjoys ice climbing? This place is really wonderful. Coffee, cookies, truffles, fudge, and almost anything else sweet you could imagine. Most (or possible all) of the goodies they sell are made right in the store. I tried the spicy Malaysian coffee and a scrap cookie. The scrap cookie is a must and the coffee was fresh and unique. The staff was friendly and helpful. This was also a great place to spend a few hours and get some work done on the free wireless connection. This place is a must on your visit to Ouray.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    173
    49
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great chocolate and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I just wanted to try one piece, but the owner took me to the back for a small tour and I had her surprise me by picking her favorite chocolates and not telling me what they were. It was fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ggarcia9408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Coffee, Tea, Desserts and Chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

After you dine or visit a museum, or go to,the ice park in the winter, make sure you stop by this wonderful and delicious,eatery in Ouray. The staff are all friendly and it is so hard to choose cookies, candy, ice cream, or shakes. They have both hot and cold creations. Enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We came here more than once during our visits to Ouray and everything we have tried has been wonderful! The truffles are to die for. I recommend the caramel chai latte and the earl grey truffles. Very very delicious. You can't go wrong with anything you get here. No matter what it is, it's going to be delicious! Can't want to come back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AD0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
600 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Favorite food place in Ouray!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

For living on the other side of the state, I think my dozen visits to Mouse's in the last 2 years qualify for some sort of honorable mention.

The Belgian Hot Chocolate (get the Dark) is deliciously good, especially with almond milk. As is their homemade apple cider. Their truffles and chocolates are yummy, although I personally feel they could add peanut butter cups to their offerings (especially if they use dark chocolate)! They also serve Dreyers ice cream. Free wi-fi to boot.

However, our forays into this store are not complete if we do not buy SCRAP COOKIES. It's as described: all the leftover, delicious goodness used in making their chocolates and candies are mixed with cookie dough, which results in the most addicting cookie ever. Not one ever tastes quite the same as another.

At $2.50 each, we've probably spent at least $70 on Scrap Cookies alone in our dozen visits. The cookies are sizeable, so the price isn't that shabby, but that means the number of calories is probably astronomical.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mouses Chocolates and Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Mouses Chocolates and Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing