We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ouray Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't let the cover fool you. It needs a paint job outside but the rooms look freshly painted. The bathroom was very nice and had a separate sink area. The room we had was on the second floor near the river out back. We could hear the water but nothing else. The breakfast was free but the worker had a bad attitude toward his coworker and job, which dampened it for me. Otherwise, it was nice enough (breads, cereals, waffle maker, etc.). They had an outdoor pool and hot tub as well. We did not use it ourselves.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    112
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
136
182
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I recently did a tour of Colorado with four of our granddaughters, ages 10 through 13. On previous stays in Ouray we had stayed at the St. Elmo (OK) and the Ouray Chalet (not so OK). This time I chose the Ouray Victorian Inn only because they offered a "family suite" that accommodated 6 people. After staying there, I wish we had chosen the Victorian Inn on our previous trips, and we certainly will on future trips!

The suite was perfect for our group, with a front bedroom for the girls and a rear bedroom for us, with the bath and dressing area in between. Our bedroom had a deck overlooking the rapidly flowing river, which made for great relaxing and sleeping. The room was spacious, very clean and nicely appointed. The bathroom had recently been renovated and was spotless.

The owners take obvious pride in their operation and go out of their way to make all guests feel welcome and taken care of (the review below from the 10 pm arrival notwithstanding). Our itinerary unfortunately had us in Ouray for only one night. Next time we'll stay longer!

Room Tip: *Try to get a room backing up to the river. *If you're arriving late, call ahead as a courtesy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiefsimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had an amazing time on our weekend getaway! The rooms were clean, well kept. The staff was great! They were polite, helpful and respectful. Breakfast was hearty. Would totally stay here again. We enjoyed the comfortable bed, and the quiet location. There is nothing that I would improve on. This is a must stay hotel! We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DurangoDunlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ended up staying 4 nights here although we were booked in for 3. We loved the location, right next to the river in a dead-end street, so it was super quiet. We asked for a top floor room which we got - it had a fridge and heaps of space. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly and was always there at breakfast to have a personal interaction with each of the guests. There were extra touches like REAL (as opposed to paper, plastic, polystyrene) coffee cups in the room, proper cutlery and crockery at breakfast and they supplied an extra cloth or two in each room which you could use for things like cleaning your car windscreen - we really appreciated the extra touches. The breakfast (7.30-9.30am) was ample - you can cook your own eggs in the microwave or in a special egg boiler, there were waffle makers, fruit, juice, cereals, bagels, bread, yoghurt etc. The internet connection was good. All staff we came in contact with were really great and the beds and furnishings were all wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor is always good as it's quieter having no-one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here on a whim a year earlier and came back because this place is wonderful. The rooms and beds are comfy, attractive, clean and functional. Surprising how many hotels manage two or three out of four. The room (coincidentally the same room both times) backs up to the river so you can open the window and listen to it all night. Breakfast is excellent. The owners take this hotel into a category of its own. They're friendly and take a real interest in their guests. Last year I had a route mapped out for my motorcycle riding which I shared. The owner pulled out a map and suggested a different route, which turned out to be spectacular. There are many places to stay in Ouray, and I happened on this one by chance and instinct when I arrived the first time, but now I won't consider anywhere else.

Room Tip: Back of room facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blesk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

After reviewing Trip Advisor reviews we decided on staying at Ouray Victorian Inn. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable with good linen. The shower head was a pleasure as it was not a restricted water flow. The owners and staff greeted us several times per day always inquiring how our stay was going. We were asked what activities we were doing each day and offered various activities and sites we might visit on our motorcycle travels throughout the area. It was a very quiet and relaxed vacation in a superior Inn. Jan gave us both hugs when we were departing for our return trip to Phoenix, Arizona. We will definitely tell our friends and will return for another wonderful vacation with Jan and her family.
Jack & Barb

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room in this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Read the reviews and decided to give it a try. The room was dated but very clean and neat. The beds and linens were okay, not top quality but this is an inn in a small town.
The breakfast was adequate but a little odd. You had to boil your own eggs which would take anywhere from 4 to 13 minutes. The oatmeal would run out and no more would be provided because it takes 30 min. The waffle batter was kept in the fridge behind the counter so you had to ask for it and the owner would make them. We were not sure if it was kindness or so we did not ruin her waffle maker,a little uncomformtable. The hours were not consitant, not good when trying to hit the trails eary or get to a tour in time. The coffeewas good! The rooms did not have microwaves and guest were not provided with one for use in the lobby. When asked the owner stated it was because she did not want to have the rooms to smell like popcorn or food. This makes evenings difficult if travelling with children for warming up bottles or left overs. This is a small town with limited restaurants open at night. A hot tub is advertised but not useable.

Room Tip: Ask for family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat2009Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Victorian Inn

Property: Ouray Victorian Inn
Address: 50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#7 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ouray Victorian Inn is a small family run hotel, where you will be welcomed as guests and treated like family. Our size and style lets us provide each guest with personal attention and the level of service that they desire. In the summer Jeepers, Hikers, Bikers, and Photographers choose the Victorian Inn for its central location and spectacular views. In the winter, Ice Climbers from all over the world call the Inn home because we are the closest hotel to the Ouray Ice Park. We invite you to join us for what ever reason draws you to beautiful Ouray, known as the Switzerland of America. Our lovely river side hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms, family suites and meeting facilities, with spectacular views of southwest Colorado’s San Juan Mountains.While at the Victorian Inn hotel, enjoy a hot hotel breakfast each morning; relax in our comfortable chairs, soak in our outdoor spas while taking in our amazing views, and watch the children enjoy our play equipment. Let the sounds of the river lull you to sleep. The Ouray Victorian Inn has designated dog-friendly rooms and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ouray Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Victorian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing