We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night's Sleep EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best night's Sleep EVER”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Ouray Victorian Inn . The bed had a wonderful mattress that gave us the best night's sleep we have ever had on a vacation. As a part of the good accomodations the water flow of the shower was super and the oversized refrig was helpful as well. The hosts are very personable and happy to do whatever they can to make your stay exceptional. There are two hot tubs and a wonderful view of the box canyon, along with pretty flowering hanging baskets. all along the front. WE really enjoyed the breakfast - which included a crock pot of the good steel cut old fashioned oatmeal with add ons of nuts, cinnamonand sugar and raisins. There were fresh raw eggs that you could cook for yourself as well as a waffle maker, yogurt, fresh fruit and the usual cereal and toast, english muffins and coffee tea and juice. We highly recommend the Inn and felt the price was very reasonable for the area. If we return to Ouray we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    112
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
139
186
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

H i Jan & Brian,we just returned home from Ouray and wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at ur beautiful Inn,we want to thankyou especially for checking each time we saw each other to see if there was anything we needed,great Place to stay ,great service and wonderful ppl.we will see you next summer,thanx for everything. Jackie & Lori ,southwestern Oklahoma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed in Ouray, CO several times but since we found the "VIC" we have made it our place to relax. We have told many of our friends about it too. The grounds are beautiful and the owners must take great pride in it. The rooms are large and comfortable and always clean! The parking lot is ample and the access is easy for cars, trucks and motorcycles. The river is right on the back of the property and there are tables and chairs to sit and listen to river as your relax or visit with the owners.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, if you want some more room for perhaps a longer stay they have some with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

All rooms are serenaded by the Uncompaghre river behind the hotel. (Don't even try pronouncing that one!) Some rooms have a deck that extends from the back to enjoy this view, and plans are being made to add more decks. Ask for one if you plan a visit in good weather. Only some rooms are pet-friendly, so you don't have to worry about pet hair etc. if you are not bringing a pet, which we didn't. But my sister did, and her room was fine too. Place was quite clean, nice linens, and bathrooms looked to be recently re-done. Some rooms have two sleeping areas separated by bathroom, which is great for kids. The owners live on site, and are transplants from Chicago--very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. They run a ship-shape place--a good value in this pricey town. The breakfast was excellent, with waffles made to order, real eggs (you cook them but it's easy), and fresh stuff--not out of cans and boxes like other places. Eat here, because there is no other place open anyway before 7:30. Excellent walking access to the Box Canyon trail, which is a must see (short strenuous hike, but amazing waterfall and access to Ouray Perimeter Trail for longer hike.) Hot tubs in front parking lot are nice, and nice view from there, but who needs them with the Hot Springs thermal bath and amazing pool right down the road? As far as hiking, Yankee Boy Basin is a four-wheel drive accessible trail that we loved--road is terrifying but was being widened and graded when we were there. Bear Creek Trail also beautiful- slate covered trail, partially in shade as you go up. Recommend this family and pet-friendly place for a pleasant stay in beautiful Ouray.

Room Tip: As for Pet-Friendly, or not. Ask for deck for river view. Ask for ground floor if climbing a flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2goMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were weary travellers in need of warmth and comfort. At the Victorian Inn we found both and more. The view of the mountains while sitting in the hot tub is gorgeous and inspiring. The breakfast was generous and the host is friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyndow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Awesome location, just this side of heaven. Wonderful owners. Great dog. Rooms are clean, well kept, quiet and appropriate size. Wouldn't stay anyplace else in western Co. Extremely helpful when we had car trouble, life-savers really. Plenty of breakfast in the AM. Will absolutely go back for any trip in and around Ouray.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in a family suite. We had a room with a queen bed and a porch next to the river. The door locked on our side. Their was a bathroom and then another room on the other side of the bathroom. It was much larger and had a television, daybed, queen bed, refrigerator, good lighting. We put our teen daughters in there. We really enjoyed the breakfast. We had fresh fruit, soft boiled eggs made by ourselves in an ingenious cooker, good toasted breads, waffles, oatmeal with topping and yogurts ... the eggs were not too much of a bother as another reviewer indicated. Jan was friendly and helpful; though I can understand why another reviewer said she is edgy. While we were there, she seemed to be running everything herself, and it's no small concern. The hotel is close to main street and Box Canyon. The teenagers could run off on their own. Hiking trails abound, and with two hot tubs, we never had to share. I didn't find the rooms dated as a recent reviewer indicated. They're supposed to seem Victorian, though the construction is newer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#11 of 15 in Ouray
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 15 in Ouray
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Victorian Inn

Property: Ouray Victorian Inn
Address: 50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#7 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ouray Victorian Inn is a small family run hotel, where you will be welcomed as guests and treated like family. Our size and style lets us provide each guest with personal attention and the level of service that they desire. In the summer Jeepers, Hikers, Bikers, and Photographers choose the Victorian Inn for its central location and spectacular views. In the winter, Ice Climbers from all over the world call the Inn home because we are the closest hotel to the Ouray Ice Park. We invite you to join us for what ever reason draws you to beautiful Ouray, known as the Switzerland of America. Our lovely river side hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms, family suites and meeting facilities, with spectacular views of southwest Colorado’s San Juan Mountains.While at the Victorian Inn hotel, enjoy a hot hotel breakfast each morning; relax in our comfortable chairs, soak in our outdoor spas while taking in our amazing views, and watch the children enjoy our play equipment. Let the sounds of the river lull you to sleep. The Ouray Victorian Inn has designated dog-friendly rooms and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ouray Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Victorian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing