We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleep to the sound of a rushing river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sleep to the sound of a rushing river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very reasonable rates, easy-going atmosphere, no fancy amenities, but comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed the river roaring right outside our back window and the view of the mountains out the front. Owners were friendly and accomodating. Great to be able to walk to restaurants downtown as well as scenic views.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    112
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
136
182
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I spend a lot of time in hotels for business. After a long and tiring drive, I checked in here. The reception was warm and friendly, the room was extremely comfortable and the wi-fi network that I needed for my business worked perfectly. I'd stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in a charming Victorian town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MITraveler49829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Victorian Inn was a really nice place to stay, the room(s) were clean and the bathroom shower actually had some water pressure. The Inn is found at the southern end of town. Hwy 550 almost goes over it. Its far enough from the down town businesses that you will want to drive, but it is also quiet because it is away from the downtown. The river runs directly behind the Inn and by opening the rear window we could listen (and sleep to) the sound of the rushing water. If you get the chance, say "Hi" to the owners dog Roscoe. (a very nice pooch) They serve a continental breakfast, my only beef was they don't serve until 7am and we were on the road long before then. Ouray is not far from Ridgeway, and not far from Ridgeway is the Dallas Divide. As a photographer I have traveled the world and I don't think I've ever found a more scenic location.
Ouray had plenty of places to eat and the Inn's owners recommendation was perfect for us. The Inn does not have any laundry service on sight, there is a laundry west on 7th st, just over the bridge. It was open until 9:30pm.
And much to our pleasure, the Inn had real keys for the rooms. The rates were very reasonable and when I return to the area this is were I will go and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Quiet, clean, comfortable, economical. Better than I expect at the price. Friendly couple owns/ operates. Beside a rushing creek, with pleasnt observation deck.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
223 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

After being told by Cascade Falls Lodge that they wouldn't honor their advertised weekday rate on a Monday, I went to this hotel instead. Rate was great, service wonderful, and they provided a nice breakfast. One thing to note is that their windows didn't lock so they had to work on them (I always check to see if windows lock). They did say they are putting new windows in this summer so perhaps that won't be a problem but I noticed the cleaning staff opened the windows each room they cleaned. There are nice hot tubs, a green grassy area with playground equipment for the kids to play on and comfy outdoor seating.

Room Tip: There is a nice stream rushing by the back doors if you are lucky enough to get a room facing the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is my second year at the Ouray Victorian for an ice climbing trip. The Inn is clean, rooms good sized, breakfast good, hot tub nice, it's very close to the ice park, and the owner, Jan, is very pleasant and helpful. Rates are very reasonable for a place of this quality and I'm sure I'll be back next winter.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the "Vic" every year for ice climbing in Ouray. They are continuously upgrading the facilities. We appreciated the more extensive breakfasts recently. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We like to be on the first floor. Closer to the hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cscTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Victorian Inn

Property: Ouray Victorian Inn
Address: 50 Third Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#7 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ouray Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ouray Victorian Inn is a small family run hotel, where you will be welcomed as guests and treated like family. Our size and style lets us provide each guest with personal attention and the level of service that they desire. In the summer Jeepers, Hikers, Bikers, and Photographers choose the Victorian Inn for its central location and spectacular views. In the winter, Ice Climbers from all over the world call the Inn home because we are the closest hotel to the Ouray Ice Park. We invite you to join us for what ever reason draws you to beautiful Ouray, known as the Switzerland of America. Our lovely river side hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms, family suites and meeting facilities, with spectacular views of southwest Colorado’s San Juan Mountains.While at the Victorian Inn hotel, enjoy a hot hotel breakfast each morning; relax in our comfortable chairs, soak in our outdoor spas while taking in our amazing views, and watch the children enjoy our play equipment. Let the sounds of the river lull you to sleep. The Ouray Victorian Inn has designated dog-friendly rooms and is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ouray Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouray Victorian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing