We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've always loved our stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wonderful area and cabins! We like to walk along the trail right next to the cabins along the river. It has a wonderful rustic feeling and is very cozy. Many attractions and outdoor opportunities are easily accessible from the cabin. Pets were able to stay with us, but were not allowed in the hot tub.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecrepins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Owner at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Pets are not allowed in the hot tub. It takes a huge effort to maintain the hot tub and a pet in the water just ruins it for everyone.

Thanks for taking the time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Riverside “Inn” and Cabins last summer. My husband and I have traveled extensively inside and outside of the United States and we agreed that this was the worst lodging experience either of us had ever had. Let me begin by saying that the Riverside website completely misrepresents what the Riverside “Inn” is. It is not an inn at all, it is an old motel. Putting a small fridge and microwave in a basic motel room does not make it a suite either. There are no suites, just rooms with paper thin walls and lots of noise. In fact the Riverside Inn was downright hectic. It does not have a mountain feel and is anything but peaceful.

The room we were given was within inches of a very busy gas station and was much smaller than we expected. We went to the front desk and politely told the owner we were extremely unsatisfied and did not want to stay. The Riverside required us to pay for our entire stay up front, which was too bad for us. We were denied a refund and forced to stay at this horrible place.

As mentioned earlier, the room itself was much smaller than the website would have you believe. Although it was clean, it was run down. There was water damage on the ceiling, the bathroom facet dripped continuously, and the toilet ran all night. If you want a relaxing mountain get away avoid the place at all costs. Above all, do not be fooled by their misleading website.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCS924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Owner at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

It is extremely uncommon for us to hear such negative feedback from guests, especially from such experienced travelers. We don't pressure guests to complete TA reviews so we take each seriously.

Our best guess is that the room you stayed in was an economy suite (we have many room/cabin configurations) - from the website:
Economy room, 1 double bed, 1 futon sleeper, mini-kitchen, one burner stove/no oven, compact frig/microwave, bar sink, dishes & cookware, A/C, Sat TV, Phone, WIFI, full bathroom. Smaller room - great for 2 ad, 2 ad w/ 1-2 children or 3 ad. Pet friendly

Many travelers on a budget appreciate the compact design and savings of these style rooms(around 60% less than one of our two bedroom full suites) and we make no attempt to mislead anyone into staying with us - we are known for spending hours on the phone with guests explaining the place, the area, the rooms and our policies. We want you to stay here, but more importantly, we want to exceed your expectations, we want you to like it, and we want you to come back. Consequently we clean, maintain, upgrade, and repair aggressively so it is also surprising that you found so much to fault.

This is a popular place and we do have a busy periods during the day. It's a fun time to meet other travelers and adventurers, observe the activity, or get away and relax by the river. Once guests are settled in and normal business hours have passed, the place is very quiet and because we are outside of town, it stays that way until morning - watch meteor showers, listen to the river, "chill" in the hot tub.

On the refund issue... We have cases where a guest books a room thinking they can rely on us as a fallback if they can't come to town and negotiate a better rate with someone else. They then find another place to stay and come back to the Riverside to cancel their reservation. The problem is that if we hold a room for you and you do not pay for it, we do. The room we held for you could have otherwise been rented if we did not hold it for you. We cannot afford to pay for rooms for casual consideration. Please study our website, call us/ask questions, check out other local lodging establishments as well. You will find we offer a variety of excellent accommodations. In this case, we were unable to refund the stay however we would not and could not “force anyone to stay”. You could have left at any time.

We look at the guaranteed reservation as an agreement. You agree to pay for the room and we agree to hold it for you. Some have trouble grasping this and we are sorry if you fall into that category but if you are not happy with your room when you get here, we go to great lengths to do whatever we can to make it right! We certainly cannot do much for you a year later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at the Riverside Inn. We enjoyed it so much last year we returned again this year. The location is beyond perfect. What can beat being nestled in the middle of the San Juan Mountains in the gorgeous town of Ouray, Colorado. There is immediate access to all of the jeep roads that this part of the country is known for.

We stayed at the inn part of the facility. The price is very reasonable for similar lodging during the summer. A huge plus is that they accept pets so our dog Sadie was not banned to the truck. The room is rustic but very comfortable. Good variety of TV stations from Denver, good internet connection and plenty of space. The best part is the owners are sooooo friendly. They are genuinely concerned for their guests and will go out of their way to accomodate you if at all possible. All you have to do is ask.

If you are into jeeping this is the place. They have on-site jeep rentals. If you have ever rented jeeps in the San Juans you will know that they must be returned washed inside & out and they must be refueled. As it turns out they have a gas station and the only car wash in town! All you need is right at your finger tips.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was the nicest place to stay, right site, right price and great owners. The owner brought us some wonderful toys for my 2 and a half grandaughter. Rented a great jeep from this Inn, wonderful! Just a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rere1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We got a cabin at the last minute and it was really great. We had planned on camping in Colorado and decided not to because of the fires and the heat so this was a nice compromise. It was right by the Uncompahgre river and a walk to the Hot Springs but as it was over 100 degrees we didn't do that. The river is fantastic and the sound of the water running over the rocks is mesmerizing. The bathrooms/showers were as expected: functional for a public convenience. Ouray is a lovely little town and the other hotels in the area wanted roughly $100 per night, That was not in our budget. We paid $64 for the cabin. I thought that was quite a lot for a bunk bed and a queen. We did have electricity and mattresses. We bought our own sleeping bags. It was not noisy at night. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We weren't allowed to have a fire because of the wild fires and it was so hot anyway it didn't matter. There is also a hot tub but we didn't use it. I would stay here again. A great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #1 at the end of the row of cabins so neighbors only on 1 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you're looking for clean, affordable lodging in Ouray, this place is a good option. We booked a Last Minute Special through their website, and our room was worth the $70/night rate. Nothing particularly fancy. Our room was a regular queen room and was cozy but clean that featured lodge-style furniture.

No in-room iron or hair dryer. (My wife was able to secure a hair dryer at the front desk.) And remember those little bottles of shampoo you took from the Hilton Garden Inn in Santa Monica last year because you liked them so much? Yeah, you'll be wanting to bring those with you -- there's nothing in the way of soap, shampoo or conditioner except for a convenience store bathroom-type soap dispenser in the shower.

All in all, though, we were pleased and we'd definitely stay here again! Super friendly staff and the breathtaking views that Ouray is famous for!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLostTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I came out to Ouray for a couple of weeks to do some hiking in the area. I recently graduated from grad school and wanted some time to decompress. I found riverside on the internet and stayed in a camper cabin. It was perfect to use as my base camp to do as much hiking in the area as possible. The cabin was very comfortable and very relaxing having the river to listen to every-night falling asleep. The staff was awesome as well.. I cant tell you how friendly everyone was and what such incredible customer service was has every day I was there. i will definitely be coming back when I come back to Ouray!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
251 reviews
1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#12 of 15 in Ouray
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins

Address: 1804 N Main, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range: $41 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Ouray Riverside Inn And Cabins Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing