We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It had everything”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It had everything”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

As several of my friends and I are passing the half-century mark this year. We wanted to celebrate in a large way.We planned five trips to mark this occation (5-4-50). Skiing in Copper Mountian and the beach at Playacar were completed. The third trip was 4-wheeling at Ouray. WOW what a great trip and WOW what a wonderful stay at the Ouray Riverside Inn. From the time we arrived they met our every need. Friendy staff, especially Angella (a.k.a. Steve). As friends for over 30-years we can be a demanding group. Angella quickly became a part of the fun. The rooms were wonderful with great views. We rented Jeeps from the Riverside Inn and they exceed our expectations. From our group 4 have owned modified Jeeps and two of us would consider ourselves to be Jeeping experts. The rental Jeeps were outstanding. It became obvious on the trails these jeeps were modified beyond most of the other Jeeps we saw. The vast majority of people never get to experiance the magestic mountains the way we did and it is do in large part to the Ouray Riverside Inn!!!!

Room Tip: We stays in the lodge with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derbywenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this review, October 20, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    40
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
57
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Burnie, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in the cabins that are available. They are small, but exactly what we expected. They have a double bed and a bunk bed for two more people. Our family had two cabins, both were very clean. They front desk was able to provide us with all the sheets, pillows and towels that we needed. I think it was just an extra $5 for that. You could hear the river flowing all night, it was very nice. And you can't beat the scenery!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this review, October 20, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were late planning a trip to Ouray for the peak of summer season and this was one of the few places left available. We paid extra to have a room with a kitchen. The room was small and not at all where you would like to eat and sleep. Also the room was very hot but one window didn't open so we were left with running a very anemic a.c. Room was clean and location to town fine. But if you want to enjoy your hotel as well as the mountains, this is not the place. If you just want a place to crash, it is good for that. I wouldn't spend the extra for the self catering rooms though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Owner at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
We have various room and cabin configurations that scale up in price and size. Each room is unique. Some of our rooms with kitchens are small but ideal for the budget conscious (about 50% less $ than our standard kitchen suites - $10 more than our least expensive room and much less than our competitors). This is a complicated idea to express sometimes and if you are in a hurry to reserve or just happy to find a place, the importance of what we try to communicate regarding this may be over-looked. We will re-double our efforts here and thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry if you had trouble with AC and windows. A call to our front desk would likely have remedied this. We pride ourselves on our ability and willingness to resolve issues for our guests, onsite or off. We also encourage our guests to come in and visit with us or to just make note of maintenance issues either way.

On self-catering rooms... We love the restaurants in Ouray. They have great food. The restaurants do charge more in Ouray because it costs more to keep a place here. Consequently, folks who stay in a kitchen equipped unit can save big vs. those who eat out. If you are just going to be around for a night or two, want to enjoy some great food, it may not make sense to get a full-on kitchen suite though.

Thank you,
Scott
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, CO
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Decent place located just south of Ouray, but still within walking distance. Walls are thin, the ceiling fan in our room was unusable, and the blinds did not fully cover the window. Staff was courteous and friendly. The place was clean. The price was good for the area. $106 with AARP discount. Be sure to check cancellation policies.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackRoadBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this review, October 20, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have mixed feelings about this place. Ouray is beautiful, so ANY place will have beautiful scenary.
The people we met who worked there were very nice, and helpful.
We had our dog, and they accepted pets, even provided plastic bags for people to pick up after poochie.

The place is SMALL though! The cabins are close together, parking lot is small. We rented a small "suite" with a kitchenette in the motel, because we wanted a private bathroom (the cabins are rustic, with no bath/shower) SMALL is the key. The "kitchen" was a 1 burner stove behind a bar sink. There was no sink in the bathroom. It was so small, that you can't cook and wash dishes. Imagine trying to fix breakfast in the morning, wash dishes, and brush teeth -- for THREE people.
It was just to small! Only 1 person could even fit in the area at a time, someone had to move in order for another to get into the bathroom.

There was no dresser, or place to store clothes. My family of 3 (and a dog) stayed here for a week. Granted, we didn't spend much time in the room, but we were packed like sardines inside. We didn't even have a chair outside the room to sit and enjoy the mountains. At least the rustic cabins had a small porch and bench. I considered swapping!

Having said that, I remember that I only paid $69.00 for the room per night. This would have been ok for a single person, or even a couple, but NOT for a family! Families need more room, and you can't cook a meal in the one burner kitchen area.
I think if I'd had a nice place to sit outside, I would have been much happier with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this review, October 20, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed two nights here and had a cozy room next to the river. The hotel owners were extremely accommodating and very kind. They were helpful with giving local tips and were always available whenever we needed them. The hotel is in the heart of downtown within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this review, October 20, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Was greeted warmly and price of a cabin very reasonable, $41 but I checked twice before moving my luggage in and discovered No Sheets or Pillows. Went to the office, different person this time, and discovered sheets and pillows were another $5. I could have been told that right off. I receive a plastic tub with sheets and had to make the bed myself ! The cabin is basic but not even a trash can ! The mattress was a hospital plastic covered type with a zipper and very thin. No bathroon in cabin but just a short walk to bathrooms. Big hitch was they lock the bathrooms at night unless a guest puts a 'rock' to block the door from locking. (Really, you lock the bathrooms for the cabins that have no bathrooms !!) Free WiFi but signal too week in my cabin to use it. Back to office and response was 'oh' ...
Inexpensive spot to stay but honesty up front would have prepared me. Never again !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ditto51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurayRiversideInn, Manager at Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins, responded to this review, October 20, 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
903 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.3 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#13 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins

Property: Ouray Riverside Inn and Cabins
Address: 1804 N Main, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Ouray Riverside Inn And Cabins Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing