We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun experience if you REALLY like HOT water!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa

Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa
Ranked #16 of 35 things to do in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spa sitting on a natural hot spring that provides visitors with a full range of spa activities or simply the chance to soak.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
260 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Fun experience if you REALLY like HOT water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went to the hotel specifically to try the Vapor Cave as it sounded like such a fun and different thing to do. We did not stay at the hotel but just went in the evening.

We thoroughly enjoyed the vapor cave, but I will say that if you don't really enjoy hot water, it would not be a very nice experience. It was especially nice when there were not other people in the cave with us or the other people were talking softly as it is a fairly small area. The nice thing is that they have a hose with ice cold water in the cave so when we got hot, we just grabbed the hose and ran the water over our heads or arms. That was refreshing and allowed us to stay longer. The waters are supposed to be very healthy. I would recommend being careful to drink lots of water while you are there and when you leave. They have cups and a large container of water before you go into the cave.

After we were hot, we went outside to enjoy the hot springs fed swimming pool. It was also very warm but with the cooler night air, it felt great. Here again they had a hose with cold water that you could use to help cool down when you got hot.

This is something I would recommend trying once as it is such a unique experience, as long as you don't mind a hot tub like experience. If you don't like hot tubs, you probably won't enjoy this. I can see how it would be especially fabulous in the winter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    6
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Divide, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“hot springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very private and quite. I didn't feel like hanging around screaming kids at the city Ouray hot springs so we went to thisone. We were glad we did. Very nice place. I was a little closterphobic in the caves so I didn't stay long in there but the outside pool offered great views while you soaked.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KelKel68Divide_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must if you go to Ouray!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Loved the massages and the hot springs. At first I was worried just because it was during their off season, but the staff was very friendly and do not hesitate to ask any questions. The Loreli was a secluded private hot spring pool, very relaxing and a must for couples!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun experience, need cold soak plunge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been talking about going to Wiesbaden for a while and finally went. It's not as nice as we were expecting, but it was fun to experience. The cave is around 108 and we couldn't soak for too long, but really crazy! The outdoor pool is around 104 and was nice to be outside. They could benefit from having a cold plunge or anything below 104. Didn't stay in the rooms as they seemed to be too expensive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbugs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect for a getaway without the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I love a weekend getaway at the Wiesbaden. Make sure you book a spa treatment and leave the cell phone in the car! Its a perfect place to unwind and relax. Its not really the best place for kids so find them a sleepover at a friends house and book your stay at the Wiesbaden!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GunniMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa also viewed

 

Been to Wiesbaden Hot Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing