We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicks with Picks eat their hearts out at the Secret Garden in Ouray CO”
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secret Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I run a women's ice climbing program called "Chicks with Picks" - don't laugh, we've been in business for twelve years and we take this business of climbing very seriously. Not only do we teach women to ice climb, we organize workshops and dinners each night. This year, I hired Sara Sharp at the Secret Garden B&B in Ouray CO to cook dinner our group - we were able to walk to her Inn and enjoy a warm meal around the fireplace.
My girls get off the ice hungry and everyone commented that after twelve years, this is the best meal we have had! I agree, Sara went out of her way to accommodate a lot of challenging food issues with our group of over 30 women. It was memorable -- we left oohing and aahing, plus we were full. Her B&B is super cozy and she is a fabulous cook - what more could you want for a special event. One-stop-shopping at Secret Garden.
Thank you Sarah!!! Kim Reynolds
Head Chick
Chicks with Picks

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
Thank IceClimbingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

My husband and I got married at the Secret Garden in October 2010- we eloped- just us- no guests. What a fabulously romantice retreat the Secret Garden is. We stayed in the Kensington Room and woke every morning to the beautiful fall colors. Sarah, the Inn Keeper, arranged everything for our very intimate ceremony. Afterward she cooked us the most delicious dinner. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to elope or have a small private wedding to check out the Secret Garden and would especially recommend it during the off-season when the inn is less busy so as to have place more to yourself. We would also highly recommend having Sarah prepare dinner for you at least one night- she is an unbelievable chef. For couples seeking a romantic getaway- this is the place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfoll22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

It couldn't have been better!! Sara was fun to work with - especially in planning the menu for the wedding reception. She is a brilliant chef and uses fresh and local foods! Our guests are still talking about how great the food was!! Not only was the food wonderful, Secret Garden itself provided a beautiful venue for our wedding reception. Only but great things to say!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jana_faragher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

While visiting family in this area of Colorado we spent three nights at Sara's pleasant and quiet "secret garden". We had one of the smaller bedrooms with the bath across the hall. The bed was comfortable and the street was quiet--we slept well. In the morning we were greeted by a cheerful Sara who effortlessly served us such things as a potato and spinach frittata (ingredients from the local CSA), orange French toast, Apple pancakes, eggs cooked "our way" and a wonderful selection of muffins. Though it was getting late in the year the yard was still blooming and we helped ourselves to luscious fresh raspberries. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn49006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

With less than a week's notice, Sara prepared a fabulous menu for an afternoon event. Fruit, cowboy antipasto, salmon, chicken salad in pasta shells, tenderloin canapes, new potatoes in bacon with horseradish, and quiche. Every dish was lovingly prepared, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! Her price was so reasonable and the servings were very generous. I hope I have another reason to need Sara's outstanding catering soon! Thank you, Sara!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GreysOnTray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Handsome space-lovely garden, pleasant commons-restful, clean, nicely decorated bedrooms-
and the breakfasts are gourmet-best we've ever had-and a host so friendly, she is almost "family"...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzatjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My father and I rode in the Colorado Peace ride and my husband joined us in the overnight towns. Ouray was breathtaking and Sara's setting couldn't be sweeter. We had the pleasure of being able to have a catered breakfast with our fellow cyclists in her beautiful covered gardens. The meal was absolutely the best on the 5-day trip and one of the best baked french toast dishes I have ever had! What a great way to start our day, we were fueled well.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinywildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouray
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#12 of 15 in Ouray
321 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Address: 101 6 Ave., PO Box 862, Ouray, CO 81427-0862
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: $143 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sounds of songbirds and gurgling brooks greet you in the morning at Secret Garden, even though we are only two blocks from charming Main Street. Enjoy your custom breakfast, prepared by an experienced caterer, in your room, the dining room, or in our lushly-planted gardens. Relax in our hot tub under the stars. Reserve our entire property for your wedding, reunion, corporate meeting, or any other special event. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing