We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Secret Garden. It is a beautiful property close to the river and walking distance from most everything. The bed was comfortable and the host, Sara, was very accommodating. Sara seems to have thought of everything you need - she offers towels to take to the hot springs, bath robes to use and there is a very nice hot tub if you don't want to go down town. The weekend we stayed was very hot and the property doesn't have AC so it made it a little uncomfortable. It's obvious that Sara loves what she does and puts her heart into it - from the garden to the food to the fresh flowers in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeRams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretgardenouray, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind review. We do try hard! I believe you stayed in the Devonshire Room. With no real cross-ventilation to speak of, that room is definitely our "warmest." I do have a few small fans in there but your comments tell me that I need a bigger fan that will fit inside the window. We are all praying for rain, and our summer "monsoons," to begin and cool things down. I appreciate your comments and I will locate a larger fan to fit inside the window next time I go to town. We do have air conditioning in the Provencal Suite (both rooms) as those attic rooms would REALLY be warm without AC. I am so sorry you found your room too warm but appreciate you letting me know that I need a bigger fan in there! It will be here next time you come! Thanks for visiting Ouray and Secret Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    10
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
63
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just finished a three-day conference in Ouray and stayed at the Secret Garden. Loved the warmth and charm of the B&B and my cozy, comfy room. Sara anticipated my every need. She also catered a breakfast and lunch for over 300 people flawlessly. Her attention to detail cannot me overstated. I look forward to staying at the Secret Garden again. Erin Ries

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ries56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We can't say enough about the Secret Garden B&B - our recent visit was absolutely wonderful. Sara was welcoming and made our whole family feel at home throughout our stay in Ouray. The B&B is as quiet and restful as it appears from the website. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, the relaxing common area, the hot tub, the beautiful deck, and the sweeping vistas of the mountains. We also really appreciated being able to walk everywhere, right from our doorstep! We highly recommend this place - don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

So in my last review I definitely wanted to come back to the Secret Garden, but didn't know when/if it'd ever happen. Two years later, it did. My fiancé and I were planning our honeymoon and he said he wanted to go to Colorado. I said "well, I know a place..." I emailed Sara and she remembered me from 2 years before. She was a delight all over again and we had the best food every single morning that week! She spoiled us so much that on our way home when we had to stop at a hotel and eat continental breakfast, we were pretty sad. It was a most delightful and relaxing week. My husband now wants to go back again! Thank you so much Sara!

Room Tip: we stayed in her honeymoon suite. it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maid2praiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our stay at Secret Garden was fantastic. Sara was warm and friendly and helpful with ideas of things to do. Our room had a wonderful view and was clean and airy. The food was very good too. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our 3-night stay this past weekend at the Secret Garden was lovely. Sara the innkeeper was an excellent host, and she was devoted to us - her only guests for the weekend. The home is comfortable and welcoming, and we explored the grounds to determine the logistics of our summer wedding on her property. Great views from all rooms!

We enjoyed the only guest room with a private bathroom. The Kensington was spacious and comfortable, and it had a sofa and a fireplace along with a PUNY old-school TV... but most people who stay in Ouray aren't there for the TV anyway. The bathroom was large and the shower head was super nice!

We played board games in the common living room and turned on the large gas fireplace. Free wi-fi throughout the house. There are about 10 total parking spaces on her property. We came and went as we pleased. We didn't use the hot tub, even though it was available for use and sat on a large covered deck (doubles as a dance floor).

Sara made the breakfasts herself, and knowing that we like trying new things, she experimented each day on a couple recipes she had been wanting to try. She's got a knack for hearty flavors, and we got to enjoy corn pancakes, egg cups, spinach frittata, sausage, bacon... and everyday she placed in front of us a huge serving of berries and pineapple. We hardly were ever hungry until well past lunchtime. Yummy!

Secret Garden is also catering our wedding reception this summer, so Sara helped us create a delicious menu that I think will be a hit for all parties (carnivores, vegetarians, vegans alike)! Our cake will also be made by them, so I'm excited to see how it turns out (no, we are not going to do a tasting, but we trust SG and the reviews we've seen elsewhere). As the site host, caterer, and baker, she has always responded to our e-mails and phone calls within 48 hours.

The SG is two blocks off main street and within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secretgardenouray, Owner at Secret Garden, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments! We are working on acquiring larger TVs. We had not thought it of concern before now because as you noted, most people do not come to Ouray to watch TV. THANKS for coming and thank you for writing such a thoughtful, detailed review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is simply a great little B & B. Sara is literally the perfect host. She is welcoming and acomidating without being the least bit overbearing. The location is perfect for walking around Ouray to the Box Canyon or any of the dinning locations.

The rooms are smallish and may not necessarily appeal to a younger crowd, but the beds are comfortable. This is not the place to hang out in your hotel room as the television is very small, but when we are in Ouray we never even think of watching TV!!

The hot tub on the deck is a perfect way to end the day. Breakfast was delicous and plentiful.

If you looking for a place with top service, comfortable beds, and a perfect location, then you have found your place!

Room Tip: The hot tub on the deck was perfect in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank measrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 8 in Ouray
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Property: Secret Garden
Address: 101 6 Ave., PO Box 862, Ouray, CO 81427-0862
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sounds of songbirds and gurgling brooks greet you in the morning at Secret Garden, even though we are only two blocks from charming Main Street. Enjoy your custom breakfast, prepared by an experienced caterer, in your room, the dining room, or in our lushly-planted gardens. Relax in our hot tub under the stars. Reserve our entire property for your wedding, reunion, corporate meeting, or any other special event. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing