We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Celebrate Our Anniversary”
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secret Garden
Ranked #3 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Great Place to Celebrate Our Anniversary”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Sarah, owner of Secret Garden, and her staff were excellent. Even before arriving, Sarah was willing to help answer questions about her place as well as general questions we had about Ouray. In fact, it was Sarah's helpfulness during phone conversations that helped us decide to stay at the Secret Garden, and we're glad that we did! The breakfast menu was new each morning, the food was delicious, and the company we shared with Sarah, and the other patrons, around her breakfast table was delightful. Sarah did a wonderful job making the b&b feel like our own place. We felt quite at home in our snug room and enjoyed the hot tub, located on the back porch, each evening. The hot tub is especially nice after a long day of hiking! Our stay at the Secret Garden helped make our anniversary celebration a delightful one. Thank you, Sarah! -David & Keeley

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddallasmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    10
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
63
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was my wife's first visit to Ouray and I chose Secret Garden based on TripAdvisor's ranking and reviews. We were delighted to find such a quiet and convenient spot surrounded by Ouray's beauty. The B&B was very comfortable, full of interesting art, books and decorations. We enjoyed lingering after Sara's excellent breakfasts to learn about the area and our hostess. The Secret Garden was one of few places where you arrive with handshakes and leave with hugs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNextrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

After a very long hot day in the car, The Secret Garden was the perfect place to cool down and unwind - soak up the atmosphere of this old mountain town. The place was spotless and beautifully kept. Sara's breakfast was the best we had on our Great American Tour.
Fantastic.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Girlshavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have not stayed at the Secret Garden B&B, but did have a wonderful, catered camping weekend with The Great Old Broads for Wilderness near Ouray. The owner of the Secret Garden provided the breakfasts and dinners for 5 days. She provided delicious food with great good cheer for all 40 of us through sun and rain. I can imagine that with her great food sense and good humor, she must run a delightful B&B. I'll try it next time I'm headed that way, and so should you.







t

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curious33397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the SECRET GARDEN and loved every minute. This is a Bed & Breakfast and the owner, Sara, is also a caterer. Needless to say, our breakfasts were superb. The first night of our stay was in a beautiful room with queen sized bed with a bathroom across the hall. The next day we upgraded to a "suite" with a king sized bed and a private bath. By far the best choice for us as we tend to get up during the night. We were extremely comfortable in our new accommodations. The entire B & B is nicely furnished and very attractive as well as comfortable. The landscaping is quite nice with lots of flowers and outdoor areas for sitting. The B & B is within easy walking distance to shopping and fine restaurants. It was a very enjoyable experience and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Quiet room -- no street noise even with the windows open -- relaxing atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domino51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Sara was the BEST! She fed our group of Great Old Broads for Wilderness breakfast and dinner for 4 days and blew us away with her terrific, fresh, creative meals that satisfied perfectly after our days hiking in nearby wild places. I

We were begging for recipes...something older women usually don't feel compelled to do! Sara will accommodate any special dietary needs without making anyone feel they are a bother. Her humor, hard work and dedication to serving truly delicious food is unparalleled.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank roserows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

How can you miss, with the San Juan mountains surrounding a darling B&B, beautiful grounds, delicious meals (breakfast and wedding reception), great service and a warm hostess (Sara Sharpe)? Only 3 rooms, but they are darling for the bride to get ready for the ceremony and a few family members. There are other places to stay close by in Ouray - for other family members and friends. We did jeep rides, hikes, climbs, cruised the darling shops.

Highly recommend Sara's breakfasts: cornmeal pancakes light as air (she shared the recipe with me later); egg stratas, light an fluffy muffins.

Reception: best beef tenderloin for a crowd ever, and delicious chicken. Delicious wedding desserts, like the chocolate mouse wedding cake.

Thank you, Sara, for all you did to make our stay a wonderful memory to treasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Property: Secret Garden
Address: 101 6 Ave., PO Box 862, Ouray, CO 81427-0862
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sounds of songbirds and gurgling brooks greet you in the morning at Secret Garden, even though we are only two blocks from charming Main Street. Enjoy your custom breakfast, prepared by an experienced caterer, in your room, the dining room, or in our lushly-planted gardens. Relax in our hot tub under the stars. Reserve our entire property for your wedding, reunion, corporate meeting, or any other special event. Sorry, no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing