We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Wilderness Lodge Experience”
Review of OPUS Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ophir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
OPUS Hut
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have stayed in many Colorado alpine huts, this is the finest. The lodge is near the summit of Ophir Pass 3 miles West of the hwy 550 Trailhead, and is a two year old ‘green’ superbly constructed building, at 11,600’. The Jeep trail is very tame and I’d say most 2 wd cars could make it up, though the sign along the trail says 4 wd high clearance (the tough part is West of the summit towards Ophir) A 1/4 mile gentle uphill walk is required from the summit parking area. In winter this would be a wonderful back country ski prospect.

Overall I’d rate this Lodge a 9/10 for mountain wilderness huts. Very comfortable, light, roomy, convenient with 2 indoor composting toilets and warm/cold & drinking running water, plus a PV electrical system. The rate at $35/night/person is a great bargain. They equip the lodge with full kitchen supplies and a small fridge is adequate for even a 2-3 day stay. A wood fired sauna in an out building works well according to our grandkids.

Our weather experience was marginal as we had rain & cloud about 3/4 of the time. Nearby hike opportunities are excellent, but trails very indistinct. An aspect to consider is that while the lodge sleeps 16, there are 4 bedrooms. So you can do the math on that, and find communal style sleeping is the norm (you can reserve a bedroom or the entire hut, for full charge). Two 3 bed rooms downstairs and two 5 bed rooms upstairs are provided. Two main level bathrooms make a large group practical, and a small downstairs kitchen permits fuller cooking capacity.

The hut was warm in spite of outside temps in the 40’s. A wood cookstove/oven and good supply of split firewood makes a cozy experience, but one need to bring a hatchet, matches and a fire start mixture. The PV lighting system was adequate for most tasks, but don’t count on needlepoint level light. The beds were comfortable and warm. You bring your own sheets and pillow cases. Towels too. No showers, but a nearby stream could do for the brave, desperate or foolish. Hut slippers are a wise pack-in item and some paper towels should be packed too. A small supply of metal foil saved us a lot of kitchen cleanup work. You pack out your trash, and leave the lodge cleaned up on departure. The lock is a combination entry and the door handle is a little stubborn.

We’d be game to go again. It was a terrific experience for our 5 grandkids, their parents and us. My opinion is that we are in a ‘startup period’ for this lodge, and once word gets out it will be more difficult to find open time. As it is, the summer calendar is very open.

Room Tip: Upstairs 5 bed rooms will be warmer in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RandyBWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had the best "girls weekend" at the Opus Hut. The food was amazing, hiking spectacular and the cabin had the perfect amenities while still being completely off the grid. I recommend getting the dinner/breakfast service, it's such a nice bonus.

Room Tip: It's kind of hard to find so make sure you get good directions, Also, the road into the hut is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Opus Hut in the winter and just this past weekend (8/3/13). The cabin is incredibly built, very comfortable, and clean. All amenities make it a true luxury (in the back country sense) accommodation you would never expect at 11,000+ feet!! The hiking was incredible, then we got to come back and relax at this wonderful place. A true gem of a place. Bob is a builder and the attention to detail inside and out is apparent. We are hooked! As long as you don't have problems at altitude, this place needs to be on your bucket list!!! We will be back! Thanks, Bob!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have 2 kids (13 and 10) and we stayed for 2 incredible summer days and nights. The hut is a work of art yet not at all precious. Comfy to hang in, great meals, and the (new) sauna is a perfect end to the day. The views out the window are stunning, and Bob can recommend a hike for any level. We went on a hard, high-altitude hike that offered a range of above-the-treeline views, and then after Scrabble and tea, had some wonderful jaunts closer to the hut. An alternative to camping with unparalleled and off-the-grid access to wilderness, OPUS hut is the ultimate family adventure. One tip: the drive to is quite an adventure; get good directions beforehand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent my birthday here Jan 6,2013. Bob has obviously spent A LOT of time and energy to make the Opus hut like no other. It's truly amazing, you'll hear that over and over when folks who have been there reflect on it. Running water and in-door toilets in a hut!! The filtered drinking water is delicious! The Amish wood burning stove is beautiful. From the light fixtures to the hardware and hooks on the stove pipe, all upscale!! The beds are very comfy and you only need 2 bring a pillow case and top sheet. Lots of games and books so save yourself the heavy haul in. We came up the Ophir Pass road from 550, less than 3.5 miles at a comfortable grade. Plan to spend a couple nights so you can get some quality turns in. If you're new to Avalanche terrain, hire Bob to guide you in his backyard. We will be back and hopefully the sauna will be done!! Thank you Bob for the time and energy to build such a great retreat in gorgeous terrain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beanski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at the OPUS hut April 6th through the 8th. The weather was beautiful with sunny skies and mild temps. As an unexpected bonus, Ophir Pass Rd. was plowed almost all the way to the hut so we were able to drive to within shouting distance. The hut itself is incredible. The amount of detail spent on it makes it seem like a backcounty chalet more than a hut. As other have said, the terrain around the hut can not be beaten anywhere in Colorado. We spent the weekend skiing corn above treeline but you can tell the skiing right outside the hut would be epic on a powder day. I would highly recommend the OPUS to anyone looking for the best in a backcountry hut experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was completely blown away by the OPUS. off the grid, running water, HOT water, in-house CLEAN composting toilets, RADIANT in-floor heating, wonderful splitting cedar firewood, and unmatched views and ski terrain. Ski in is easy and fun. will recommend to anyone wondering where to find the best bc hut experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havliski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ophir
13.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
6.2 mi away
Teller House
Teller House
#4 of 7 in Silverton
88 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
6.1 mi away
Triangle Motel
Triangle Motel
#3 of 7 in Silverton
89 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cascade Village
Cascade Village
#10 of 20 in Durango
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OPUS Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OPUS Hut

Address: 3665 San Juan County Road 8, Ophir, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Ophir
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ophir
Price Range: $35 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back country Lodge, located near Ophir Pass, between the towns of Silverton and Telluride Colorado. Solar powered and heated, designed to accommodate skiers hikers and climbers year round. Three mile ski in access in winter, one quarter mile hike in summer. Wood fired sauna and spacious decks. Hostel style lodging with meals and lodge hosting available upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing