We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tremendous Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OPUS Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ophir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
OPUS Hut
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“A Tremendous Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have 2 kids (13 and 10) and we stayed for 2 incredible summer days and nights. The hut is a work of art yet not at all precious. Comfy to hang in, great meals, and the (new) sauna is a perfect end to the day. The views out the window are stunning, and Bob can recommend a hike for any level. We went on a hard, high-altitude hike that offered a range of above-the-treeline views, and then after Scrabble and tea, had some wonderful jaunts closer to the hut. An alternative to camping with unparalleled and off-the-grid access to wilderness, OPUS hut is the ultimate family adventure. One tip: the drive to is quite an adventure; get good directions beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent my birthday here Jan 6,2013. Bob has obviously spent A LOT of time and energy to make the Opus hut like no other. It's truly amazing, you'll hear that over and over when folks who have been there reflect on it. Running water and in-door toilets in a hut!! The filtered drinking water is delicious! The Amish wood burning stove is beautiful. From the light fixtures to the hardware and hooks on the stove pipe, all upscale!! The beds are very comfy and you only need 2 bring a pillow case and top sheet. Lots of games and books so save yourself the heavy haul in. We came up the Ophir Pass road from 550, less than 3.5 miles at a comfortable grade. Plan to spend a couple nights so you can get some quality turns in. If you're new to Avalanche terrain, hire Bob to guide you in his backyard. We will be back and hopefully the sauna will be done!! Thank you Bob for the time and energy to build such a great retreat in gorgeous terrain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at the OPUS hut April 6th through the 8th. The weather was beautiful with sunny skies and mild temps. As an unexpected bonus, Ophir Pass Rd. was plowed almost all the way to the hut so we were able to drive to within shouting distance. The hut itself is incredible. The amount of detail spent on it makes it seem like a backcounty chalet more than a hut. As other have said, the terrain around the hut can not be beaten anywhere in Colorado. We spent the weekend skiing corn above treeline but you can tell the skiing right outside the hut would be epic on a powder day. I would highly recommend the OPUS to anyone looking for the best in a backcountry hut experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was completely blown away by the OPUS. off the grid, running water, HOT water, in-house CLEAN composting toilets, RADIANT in-floor heating, wonderful splitting cedar firewood, and unmatched views and ski terrain. Ski in is easy and fun. will recommend to anyone wondering where to find the best bc hut experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havliski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ophir, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is by far the finest hut in the San Juan mountains, if not Colorado. My work requires that I visit huts all over the world and I find the location, quality of construction, design and service provided by the OPUS hut to be over the top. Access is fun and athletic and the skiing in the locality cannot be improved upon. Also it is the only hut I know of in the state that offers a half board arrangement and the proprietors cooking is excellent. My friends, family and I hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icehose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ophir
6.8 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz Klammer Lodge
Fairmont Heritage Place, Franz K...
#5 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OPUS Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OPUS Hut

Property: OPUS Hut
Address: 3665 San Juan County Road 8, Ophir, CO 81433
Location: United States > Colorado > Ophir
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ophir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back country Lodge, located near Ophir Pass, between the towns of Silverton and Telluride Colorado. Solar powered and heated, designed to accommodate skiers hikers and climbers year round. Three mile ski in access in winter, one quarter mile hike in summer. Wood fired sauna and spacious decks. Hostel style lodging with meals and lodge hosting available upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing