We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get treated like family”
Review of BackCountry Inn

BackCountry Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BackCountry Inn
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently spent two nights in Norwood, a town of 500. Just because it's small, that doesn't mean there isn't a hotel with amenities like gratis (working) wifi and cable television with lots of free movie channels, comfy beds, and clean floors! I slept all night my first night there -- normally a once-in-the-night-waker-upper, but the bed was so firm and comfortable and the pillows were fit for a king. The Backcountry Inn brings big-city luxury hotel to the small town, and the staff treats you like family. Though we were the only guests at the hotel during our two-night stay, the desk clerk made a special trip to put hot water on (for tea) for us and called to make sure we were lacking for nothing. She shared local travel information and suggested driving routes. It feels like home every time I stay there (this is my second). If you want comfort, quiet, care, and cleanliness, stay at the Backcountry Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramblassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

BackCountry Inn is a small motel situated on the west side of Norwood, Colorado. We were in town to visit our son and needed a place to stay. The room was super clean and comfortable. No discernible road noise or sounds from the other room, even though the next room was occupied. I would be delighted to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stumbled upon BackCountry Inn in Norwood, CO in a rainstorm - tired and in need of a place to stay for a family of four. The room was clean, comfortable, and very reasonably priced. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone and will absolutely stay here again when our travels take us to Norwood!! (I liked it so much, I went out of my way to write this review. Now that's saying something!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stumbled on this Inn through a google search for hotels near Ridgway. I wondered how on earth there was a hotel with such high ratings on the tiny town of Norwood. Taking a chance I booked it for our motorcycle ride.

Wow, what a fantastic little hotel.

From the beautiful lawn out front, to the sparkling rooms, to the great chairs, swing, and picnic tables it was just exactly what we need. Norwood has become a place we will actively design rides around from now on.

The google street view doesn't match the hotel, it's from before the renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Not your typical small town motor lodge! This place was recently remodeled with above average finishes... Super clean and cozy rooms, the owner was extremely friendly and provide fantastic restaurant and route (motorcycle touring) recommendations. Will be telling all our friends about this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Super accommodations. New, clean, beautiful small town motel. Friendly and helpful family owned. Super restaurant called Lone Cone? a few blocks(1/2 mi.) East.

Room Tip: Too small a motel for pool and fitness center, but our family agreed it was the best on our 9 day tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here one night and had a great nights sleep. The entire motel is redone so everything is new. The rooms are beautiful and the beds very comfortable. It was great talking to the owner as he checked us in. He gave me a suggestion for dinner and it was right on, great food and service. His truck happened to be parked in front of the room he gave us and he quickly went out and moved it so we could park there. He even went out of his way to help us when my husbands motorcycle started leaking fork oil. This is a great place to stay and its worth the price!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BackCountry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackCountry Inn

Address: 1160 West Grand Ave, Norwood, CO 81423
Location: United States > Colorado > Norwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Norwood
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BackCountry Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Backcountry Inn in Norwood, Colorado, is a delightful retreat on Scenic Highway 145, surrounded by 360-degree vistas of Wrights Mesa with the San Juan Mountains to the east and Utah's La Sal Mountains to the west. Located 37 miles west of Telluride, it's on the way to Moab or Gateway.Backcountry Inn offers 10 comfortable, modern rooms and 3 extended-stay residences, all with flat-screen TV with satellite, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, phone and air-conditioning. This motel is perfect for professionals on the move, road trips, small car clubs and motorcycle groups, and for those on their way into or out of the backcountry for hunting, fishing, sledding, jeeping or biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BackCountry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing