We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely visit”

Cornish Seal Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Gweek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Spent over 3hrs here first week of July and enjoyed every minute. There are heart warming stories and some good information. Worth a visit.

Thank didajolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear didajolu,

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed every minute of your visit!

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,298 - 1,302 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place needs to decide whether it wants to be a seal sanctuary / charity or a zoo / profit maker. There are aspects that are good like the rescuing of the seals but there others that are bad like there are otters and penguins that we're interesting but didn't feel like the belonged at a rescue centre, as well as money grabbing machines in the underground bit. It is a nice place and the work they do is good, but being owned by the same people that own aquariums and theme parks had definitely had an effect on the place.

Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Kieran C,

Thank you for your review of the Cornish Seal Sanctuary, we appreciate all feedback both positive and negative as we strive to improve our customers experience.

As to why we have additional animals other than rescued Seals at the sanctuary, the Otters are here at the sanctuary as we were given the opportunity to provide a home to two brothers who had lost their family group through illness and were in need of a more permanent facility. We have the Humboldt Penguins with us who were also re-homed here at the sanctuary.

All our paddock animals have joined the sanctuary after their local owners contacted us with the hope that these animals could be provided with permanent new homes. We provide homes for other animals as we are lucky enough to have the space to accomodate those who may need a home.

Rescue, rehabilitation and conservation is at the heart of what we do here at the sanctuary, and if it wasn't for Merlin we may not be able to continue doing the fantastic work that we do here, for example this year alone we have rescued 65 seals.


Thank you again for your feedback, I hope this has answered some of your questions and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Myself and my husband visited the seal sanctuary during our stay in St Ives. On arrival, the staff were really friendly and we were shown the local 'bus stop' where you can catch a lift every 10 minutes to the seal enclosures. However, we decided to walk, it only took about ten minutes. There was lots going on - talks throughout the day, crab holding amongst other things. The animals are very well look after and are known individually by the staff. The rescue work they do is amazing - saving 65 seal pups this year, rehabilitating them and releasing them back into the wild. During our stay, we also visited the café. Food was very reasonable and very nice! Whilst we were there some building work was going on so I am not sure if they are looking to expand further.

Overall, we were there for about 3 and a half hours and had a really good afternoon! I have returned home to look at how I can support the work of the centre further, I was so impressed.

Thank HanSpan186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear HanSpan186,

Thank you very much for your lovely and informative review, we are so pleased you had a good day here at the Cornish Seal Sanctuary!

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Enjoyed the penguins and the "back story" of each seal resident at the sanctuary. Bit of a walk for my senior mum though. Trolley ride is available and recommended for very old and young visitors.

Thank bigal_ch148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear bigal_ch148,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so happy you and your family had a good day here at the Cornish Seal Sanctuary!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We really enjoyed spending the afternoon at the seal sanctuary, in truth 2-3 hours is more than enough to see everything which despite the great cause the prices are a bit steep @ £14 per adult. All of the animals have their own stories of how they ended up in the sanctuary which makes for a heart warming trip - an appreciation of the great work the team their do

Thank Dawn1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Dawn1411,

Thank you very much for the review! We are so happy you had a good day here at the Cornish Seal Sanctuary. We have many discounts available in local businesses around Cornwall and online. This would make your future visits more affordable!

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornish Seal Sanctuary also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to Cornish Seal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing