We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornish Seal Sanctuary

Cornish Seal Sanctuary
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My son (16) and I visited the sanctuary spontaniously, following the brown road signs.
We had a great time, got a tour from the hospital down all the pools, got lots of information about the animals and even watched the feeding.
Even though the park is suited for families with small children, there is lots to see for all agegroups. It's fun to see the seals diving for fish and watch the seagulls trying to snatch their share of fish.

The sea lions were especially impressive and quite talkative. The otters were a bit hidden away at the far end of the path, but also worth watching, they are really cute.

We learned winter is the best time to visit the sanctuary, as there are so many seal puppies nursed back to health, after gotting battered about in the storms.

A destination not only for families with small children or grandchildren for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
17 Thank Carola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We're so glad you had a lovely day, many thanks for your comments, we hope to see you again at the Cornish Seal Sanctuary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    475
    218
    130
    90
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

When planned to go to the Cornish seal sanctuary with a friend, didnt expect to enjoy the experience as much as I did. 3 hours flew by before it was almost closing time. Our guide Alex really optimised our visit as he was full of fascinating facts and good humour, enabling us to more fully appreciate the work that the sanctuary does and to better connect with the animals being cared for. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having been highly recommended by my son and his girlfriend I made my first visit today. What a hidden treasure! Although it was raining heavily and cold there was lots to experience and despite the weather deteriorating even further (!) we were having such a good time we stayed to closing. Our visit was made all the more enjoyable and memorable due to Alex, an employee that guided us around giving an in depth history of the 'residents' and lecture on the procedures taken with the 'incoming'. He was really knowledgable, interesting and FUNNY to boot! I will definitely be returning (experience it in the dry next time!). I would not hesitate to recommend the sanctuary to ALL age groups. If I had to find a 'fault' it would be that the shop was unattended but someone came when we called out and this did not affect our visit in any way.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments, please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great attraction if you like animals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

A small snactuary but great up close experiences with seals and woodland walk with deer etc.
Mostly outside so take an umbrella or waterproofs. Not many places to shelter.
Good pasties in the small cafe
Steep hills for wheelchairs but do have a bus

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SealSanctuaryGweek, Marketing at Cornish Seal Sanctuary, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you soon at the Cornish Seal Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Great family day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

First visited over 25 years ago with our children and have just re-visited again with our grandchildren. We were lucky enough to have a sunny day on New Years Eve and followed the tour from the hospital right to the end and had a lovely time. The guide was full of interesting facts that were pitched at the right level for both adults and children. The café was very reasonable and the soup delicious. We booked on-line to get the best value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornish Seal Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Cornish Seal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing