We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Australia Farm... a review from an Aussie!”

Little Australia Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gweek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Australia Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Gweek B&B and Inns
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Australia Farm... a review from an Aussie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The place is in lovely surroundings,the water splash and country lane drive to the property is gorgeous.The accommodation was lovely with a room and en-suite overlooking the front lawn and veggie patch!The breakfast was a lovely home cooked full English just the right energy for a day's sightseeing around Gweek and nearby Helston. The owners were very friendly and helpful.I do recommend the place to all Aussies holidaying in that area.A small mention of the occasional noise of helicopters from the nearby Navy base and drive back around to the main road to go to Gweek,the back road off to the right is not sealed and uphill and I found it hard to get traction in my little hire car. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had an excellent three days' stay at this B&B recently. The twin-bedded room had a sofa at one end for relaxing/watching TV, plus a small balcony; though late October too cool to sit out – will have to go back in the summer! Very friendly and comfortable; delicious breakfasts (actually saw the hens that laid our tasty scrambled eggs!). It's a very peaceful location, surrounded by woodlands, and well placed for visiting both the Helford River and the coast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having booked to stay at Little Australia Farm and phone to confirm a few days before we were very disappointed to arrive to find the place... Absolutely deserted and locked up! Could not believe the rudeness/incompetence of the owners to leave us with nowhere to stay! Fortunately there was a room free at the (lovely and much better located) Black Swan in Gweek otherwise we would have been sleeping rough. Naturally I can't comment on the rooms but if you actually plan on sleeping indoors I advise you look elsewhere!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael5618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, Owner at Little Australia Farm, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We accepted your reservation in good faith, and understood that you planned to be with us by 5pm.

I telephoned and left 4 messages on your mobile telephone between 5.30pm and 7.30pm to no avail; I’m not sure what more I could’ve done.

We had plans that evening, which we delayed by an hour, to wait for you, but by 7.30pm we could wait no longer. To be fair, as you’d not called back, we thought that maybe you’d decided to stop off somewhere else, and weren’t actually going to show up at all.

I imagine that you got carried away on your way down to us site seeing, and just didn’t realise the time, which happens; generally though, for future, it’s advisable that you telephone when staying in a B&B if you’ve made arrival time arrangements; or maybe book into a hotel next time, that have 24hr reception, and can accept arrivals without prior notice.

We do hope that this experience will not put you off visiting the area in the future; Gweek and indeed Cornwall as a County has much to offer Bed and Breakfast visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a lovely few days in this tranquil spot, we were very well looked after by the owners, excellent breakfast, very clean bedrooms, all in all we would reccomend anyone to visit.
Porthleven a must, plus the Falmouth river trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Had a great 3 night stay at this B & B.
Very nice owners, nice rooms and very comfortable. Breakfast wonderful too. Great location for Helston, the Lizard etc. Tucked away nicely in a wooded area.
Don't think twice about staying here, you'll be well looked after.

Room Tip: The larger of the twin rooms and the double room both have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

I have stayed here a few times and will definately be going back. A very quiet spot, so ideal for a good nights sleep. Made to feel very welcome and with a very good breakfast, just the way you want it. I've given it 5 out of 5 as it is a perfect little B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustytrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Wonderfully secluded quiet wooded location, not far from Gweek village which has hostelry to suit modest unsophisticated tastes. Further afield,to suit more cosmopolitan tastes (down narrow country lanes) there are better eating houses .We had an excellent room for two nights and breakfast in a dining room designated for guests and not in the family 'farm kitchen' which can often the case in 'farm' deignated B&Bs .
The owners are dedicated to making their B&B a quality experience. It shows. A bit expensive on the national scale of charges but about right for what is (a) offered here in Cornwall and (b) for the capital that has been invested in this wonderful property.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Australia Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Australia Farm

Property: Little Australia Farm
Address: Gweek, Helston Cornwall, TR12 6BG , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Gweek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gweek
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
free car parking and free U. K. phone calls and free Wi Fi ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing