We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other traveler has booked this property
Sitting area with matching leather sofas, woodburner stove, television and chair.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting area with matching leather sofas, woodburner stove, television and chair.
Buttercup the prize winning cow Farm cottage, Set in the middle of a beef and arable farm, minutes from fairytale beaches
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sitting area with matching leather sofas, woodburner stove, television and chair.
Buttercup the prize winning cow
Farm cottage, Set in the middle of a beef and arable farm, minutes from fairytale beaches
Master bedroom with King size bed
Photo of second bedroom with King size brass bed. Photo taken from old farmyard.
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
Shower room to Bedroom 2
Farm woods - classified as ancient sessile oak woodland with bluebells in May.
Farm woods
Farm Field
Farm cattle
Roe deer fawn in farm woods - about 2-3 days old
Ensuite bathroom to Master bedroom
St Ives
Master bedroom with double French doors to the old farmyard
St Ives
view from South balcony of the cottage
Heifer at a local cattle show
Granite steps to the upper floor. Steps lead directly to and from the tennis court
Tennis court, photographed from the cottage
Prize winning homebred cow at a local cattle show
Oak door to and from the tennis court.
Playing at Poldhu beach on a summer evening
Helford River, photo taken whilst fishing in a boat from St Anthony boat hire
Roger the bull
Preparing the field adjoining the cottage for cabbages, July 2019
Photo of the nearby Kynance Cove on wall of second bedroom
Matching sofas push together to create a 120x175 sofa bed
Sofa bed - 120x175cm from the two matching sitting room sofas
Sitting room coffee table
Complimentary summer Prosecco awaits guests during the hot summer
Complimentary fruit bowl
Section of traditional board and card games for guests -
fresh herbs awaiting guests to the Old Cart Linney
Fully equipped kitchen includes espresso maker, toaster, microwave, kettle, mixer, scales etc
Sitting room as viewed from the kitchen
Complimentary high chair (3 in 1)
Wide selection of infant, junior & adult reading material
Complimentary traditional cot, 120x60cm
Complimentary wooden cot, 120x60cm
Jacques croquet set for guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gweek, Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 4, 2019 for a stay in November 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from a lovely weekend in the farm cottage. The cottage is comfortable and warm with lots of appreciated touches, including prosecco and cheese! It is nice and spacious with lots of grounds to explore. Unfortunately we didn't get to do too much exploring due to bad weather but even so, we still had a great time. William is really hospitable and helps you with any questions you may have.

One thing we would note is that the drive to the cottage is down a very bumpy and uneven lane.

Thanks to William for giving us a great weekend.

Date of stay: November 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zofiiak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Request ”
Reviewed November 3, 2019 for a stay in November 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Hi

We were looking at your cottage for next Spring. Could you please clarify a couple of questions?

Is all bed linen and towels provided?

Are there any extra bills such as housekeeping or utilities ?

Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnieszka...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST PLACE EVER”
Reviewed October 27, 2019 for a stay in October 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We chose to visit Cornwall during our trip to the UK. We needed something safe for our children and to be close to the coast.

We’re so glad we chose the Old Cart Linney. What a unique home.

Our first impressions were great. We arrived late in the evening. Will met us on the main road, piloting us to the farm. And entering the cottage the fire had been lit. Such a cosy welcome. Thank you.

There were other welcome touches too. A beautiful fruit bowl, a loaf of locally made bread, chocolates and a bottle of Prosecco. The hosts are so genuine.

Children to bed, and time for mum and Dad to enjoy the prosecco in front of the wood fire. What a welcome.

The Old Cart Linney is superb. Beautifully furnished, loads of classic board games, timeless children’s books, thoughtful touches like the fruit, chocolate and Prosecco, total privacy and staggeringly pretty views.

There’s the two double bedrooms, two bathrooms plus the sofa bed and a child’s cot too. It’s wonderful and we can’t recommend it highly enough.

We enjoyed the farm, which incidentally has woodland stretching across two valleys, plus a small river. Our children even helped to feed the cows a few times. They are sooooooo big.

This is a five star, triple A property, ideally suited for families. Easy to relax and only minutes from loads of beautiful beaches.

Date of stay: October 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyage415...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect birthday getaway”
Reviewed October 25, 2019 for a stay in October 2019
1
person found this review helpful

The property was exactly what we needed for a short escape for a family birthday. It was comfortable, generously equipped, really clean, quiet and Will was the perfect host. He asked about our stay in advance to best set up the property and when we arrived, met us at the end of the lane to guide us through the dark to our destination, which was warmed-up and very welcoming. Will showed us where everything was and gave us directions for some places to visit and eat. We actually preferred to dine each evening in the cottage - it would have been a shame not to enjoy it as much as possible. When we had any questions, we got in touch with Will who responded immediately and helpfully each time. I would thoroughly recommend the Old Cart Linney to anyone wishing to visit Cornwall and who wants a comfortable base in which to relax in. We're hoping we'll get to visit again in 2020, when the sun is shining so we can take advantage of the lovely grass tennis court and eat outside!

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria K
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect countryside getaway”
Reviewed October 22, 2019 for a stay in October 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us booked a very short stay at the Old Cart Linney, and must say it was incredible. An absolute escape from the real world.

It’s superbly well equipped. The host modestly underplays this, but don’t be fooled. The kitchen has more equipment that most of us have at home. Pots, pans, espresso and americano coffee makers, toaster, scales, mixer, gadgets etc etc. It’s all here.

The comfy leather sofas are to die for, and the whole ambience is one of tranquility. We loved the fire, and to sit in front of a flickering log fire as the wind and rain lashed against the windows was lovely.

The bedrooms are best described as English countryside meets Italy. All we’d say is the photos don’t do them justice. Again, totally wonderful.

This cottage is the ultimate hideaway. At the end of a very long farm track with no neighbours in sight. Well actually that’s not entirely accurate. We could see another farm about a mile away!!!

We should also point out this is very much a real farm. Real cows, real dogs and to be honest, real mud (actually some of it wasn’t mud ). So many cottages are on former farms and are a pastiche. The Old Cart Linney is the real deal. If you’re considering a booking, bare that in mind. Take the wellies and hiking boots, leave the Gucci loafers at home.

This cottage is ideal for couples, friends and would be utterly wonderful for a family. Surrounded by the farm, woodland, it’s own river, the amazing grass tennis court a mere two metres (yup, two metres) from the cottage door, croquet set and total peace. There’s also a huge wooden trunk, full of the board games we used to play as children. That’s such a sweet touch.
We will categorically be returning during 2020.

Date of stay: October 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandru...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A five star vacation”
Reviewed July 9, 2019 for a stay in June 2019
4
people found this review helpful

We booked four days at the Old Cart Linney for June 2019.

Our hosts couldn’t do enough to help. We had forgotten one of our suitcases, but William was so calm and did his best to help.

This cottage feels remote but is only 15 minutes to what feels like everywhere. Do visit the Gweek Seal Sanctuary, and the beach at Kennack.

The tennis court is awesome although it’s not quite Wimbledon (sorry Will ).

This is a five star vacation choice for chilling out for couples or families. Not somewhere to stay if you want 24/7 video games or WiFi.

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMiggin...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A secret gem”
Reviewed July 9, 2019 for a stay in September 2018
2
people found this review helpful

A friend referred us to William and the old Cart Linney.

We stay in the West Country each year. Never however stayed anywhere quite like Will’s.

The kids loved it. We’d planned to visit the usual attractions but our kids were absolutely smitten by the woods, spotting the tiny trout. Will took us on a walk, showing us a kingfisher, how to track a deer and the signs of an otter. In the evening he showed us where to sit, and we saw a barn owl and after dark the badgers.

This is the real countryside. So be prepared for the sounds of a tractor, mud and woodland tracks that don’t have tarmac, but that’s what made it so special. Everywhere we’d stayed in the past was targeted for holiday makers - Cornwall particularly. Will’s cottage is just a cottage. Of course it has everything, including old windows that rattle, but we're there for the view and the ability to escape our increasingly crazy world.

This is a secret gem. Loved it. Happy to recommend it. Brilliant for nature lovers and for children.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing