We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza spot in New castle!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hogback Pizza

Hogback Pizza
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in New Castle
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hogback Pizza was established in 1999. Chicago style thin crust as well as deep dish pizza. We also serve calzones, subs, salads, etc. Stone ovens, Homemade dough and high end ingredients. Ice cold beer on tap and classic pinball machines. Please check us out on facebook and view our menu at Hogbackpizzadotcom.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza spot in New castle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Always fast friendly service and amazing pizza I never been disappointed coming here keep up the good work guys!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blizgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG This place is the BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Chicago style thin crust as well as deep dish pies. Talking to the owner I found out they make their dough every morning, use classic stone ovens, and the veggies were super fresh. Classic pinball games (Scared Stiff, Creature from The Black Lagoon & Southpark)...who has pinball anymore???!! New Belgium Beers on tap. Eclectic environment and great music!!! Outdoor seating. The crust has soooooo much flavor!! By far my favorite pizza place ever and I am a pizza connoisseur having eaten at well over 100 pizza places (I always try new ones while traveling on business). Try the Triple Bypass and some Hogknuckes... You WILL NOT regret it!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worst Pizza EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were visiting friends and went out to grab a pizza ... it looked like a good place, it smelled like a good place, we ordered a pizza, took it back ... the WORST pizza crust I have EVER had. It was like a dry, crisp cracker, and had absolutely no flavor whatsoever. Never again will I eat there. The customer service also left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CBussey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hogback Pizza, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Geez lady, you're seriously hurting our feelings.....That was vicious. We work extremely hard and make all of our food fresh EVERY day. We use and have always used top quality ingredients....even when the economy was tanked. We provide a very friendly atmosphere and a community for locals and tourists alike to enjoy themselves and great food. If thin crust isn't your thing then that is fine but go easy on us. Who knows, maybe it was an off night...not that that is acceptable, but wow....just wow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panacea, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Around the Hogbacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Here is the best pizza and served pronto. I have enjoyed the tastes and smells of this little restaurant, and will bring it home when I can't stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank DrC-Silt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogback Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Hogback Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing