We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, perfect location, nice people.”

Black Forest Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in Nederland
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
King City, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect location, nice people.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have actually driven to Nederland from our home over a 3 day weekend to eat at the Black Forest Restaurant. It's a trip of about 675 miles and well worth it. We've followed the restaurant from Black Hawk, CO to Nederland. Their specialty is wild game and fowl. Snow goose, pheasant, and duck are available, but they have the best Elk Filet I have ever had. My fiancee says their Sauerbraten is exceptional, her favorite. Great Schnitzels, steaks, and chops are also wonderful fare. The service is a little slow, but forgivable when you look out the expansive windows at the scenery. Perfect.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    37
    25
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service is Oh So SLOW”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Do not be in a rush when you come here. The service was painfully slow. The food was nothing special about the food -I had the Weiner schnitzel best part was the potatoes, my husband had the goulash the noodles where the best part. I left hungry and disapointed. Only redeeming feature was that room was bright and the water fall relaxing. Lots of other nicer restaurants close by.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
751 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, dated decor”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

When I first entered this place, I thought: dear God, this looks like my great aunt's house -- well kept and neat, but completely outdated. However... Our server was fantastic - so professional, friendly and warm! The food? Excellent! Fork-tender sauerbraten, delicious sides, scrumptious deserts. My biggest complaint besides the 30 year old decor is the pricing. Both meals and wine carry a steep price tag relative to value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere and good food.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped in for a bite to eat while on a mountain ride, and had a mixed American and German lunch. Reuben sandwich was good as well as the Fresh Fish Catch of the Day, which is sautéed. Chicken salad and BLT were OK. The apple strudle with vanilla ice cream was excellent! The waiter was charming and helpful. The atmosphere is really relaxing with the waterfall and live plants among interesting tables and decor. Nice afternoon break.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TC4chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stopped in around 1:30 pm for a late lunch. After initial uncertainty that any of the staff had even noticed we were there (the sign said "wait to be seated" but three staff members walked past us without even making eye contact), we had a great meal with plenty of attention from the staff. The older gentlemen were particularly charming, making a show of carving my friend's roasted chicken at the table, and engaging in funny banter. The lemonade was great - freshly squeezed, and not too tart. I also had the Bratwurst plate, which was AWESOME. I LOVE sauerkraut, and theirs was first-rate. I enjoyed the food more than Helga's in Aurora, which was previously the best German restaurant I've found in the U.S. The dining room was really neat as well - lots of light, and a forest-like atmosphere with lots of plants and natural wood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spacadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing