We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For German Food fans”

Black Forest Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Nederland
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For German Food fans”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Older restaurant, but owner tries hard to please. Had lunch and it was very good. Serves traditional german fare.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dsrwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    25
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arrived anticipating a lovely meal with family. We have a child needing a highchair; we were told they had one. It was in use. We were given a boster seat. This was a mess for us, as the child is not ready for a booster. After 45 minutes of side-show antics and accordian playing, the hostess asked how things were. We said it would be better if you had a high chair. Suddenly, a high chair appeared. When the waiter heard us say it would have been nice to have the chair earlier, he said, "Maybe you should have a nanny." Aside from my impulse to punch him in the face, I did see fit to give him a full tip. In retrospect, I would not have done so. We shall never return. It was like being in an episode of Fawlty Towers. The food was mediocre to average.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank antosha-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant on the Way to Estes Park”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It's worth your time to stop at this old fashioned German Restaurant on the way to Estes Park. The setting is great & the food is also great. I would never have expected to find a place such as this in this location. The wild game & foul dishes were exceptional & my favorite was & is the Strudel.This is sort of a middle of the road expense wise & in our several visits, I have always found the value to be great for food & services. Bill Lorenz has done an exceptional job in providing the old fashioned German atmosphere & food. As another reviewer said, these kind of places are harded & harder to find.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Remember when you were a kid and your parents made you dress up and go to that old fashioned German restaurant. This is like that place. These kids of places are harder and harder to find.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheBetsy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on the front range”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was amazing!!!!! The best restaurant around. The food was fantastic, the service is none better, and an authentic German experience. I highly recommend the duck... And the torte and the stroutel. I couldn't stop eating. It is worth the drive from Estes park and Boulder!!! And cities around Nederland.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing