We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mt Princeton Riding Stables & Equestrian Center
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, pa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our guides Heidi and Ron were wonderful. The one hour trail ride goes through beautiful scenery. Enjoyed it immensely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachlady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    32
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Ride”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had been riding here six years ago and came back this year. Our rangler was very knowledgeable and friendly and we all had a nice ride through the mountains. If you want a nice ride, use them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully Relaxing”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was a package deal where we went whitewater rafting with The Adventure Company in the morning, then went on a 2 hour horseback ride in the afternoon. The property was very clean and you can tell the owners and guides take pride in the stables and the horses. Even though our greeting wasn't the greatest, she still cracked a smile here-and-there.

Mike, our guide for the horseback ride, was very knowledgeable and kind. My 13 year old stepdaughter has a good amount of experience with horses because of her Grandparents, so after some "test" questions from Mike, he ended up letting her lead us for almost half of the ride (these horses know the trails and only need minimal coaching from their riders to go where they are supposed to go).

One of the reasons for going on a horseback ride is to get away from the noise of the city so you can see and hear the beauty of nature; Mike has this same philosophy. Even with our 13 year old, redheaded, ADHD daughter and 11 year old son, the ride was relaxing and a great way to bring the day to a close.

We really enjoyed our ride, and were lucky to have Mike taking care of us. When we come back to the area, we are going to go on the 3/4 day ride, and will be requesting Mike as our guide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Esundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding for the Whole Family”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had two great guides and our kids ages 6 and 8 were delighted by the experience. The scenery is magnificent and the trail fun and just enough challenge for an inexperienced rider like me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a very relaxing way to go look at the back country. The horses were easy, the trail was different the from straight flat routes I'm used to when I pay for trail rides - we crossed the creek twice, there was a bit of up and down hill. Experienced riders may find it too tame, but I suspect they would find any trail ride that way.

The scenery is wonderful. Because the horses are so tame, feel free to bring your camera and grab a few shots.

The staff is courteous and the wranglers along the trail were watchful and sweet.

I kissed my horse and walked like a cowboy when I was done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Princeton Riding Stables & Equestrian Center also viewed

 

Been to Mt Princeton Riding Stables & Equestrian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing